Toggle rack front/rear button for stand alone

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
gbuck
Posts: 74
Joined: 21 May 2017

Post 04 Jan 2023

I know Reason RP has a flip rack button, but it would be really nice for the standalone version. I have been experimenting a lot with the cabling lately.
And one on the Sequencer so I can see the back side of a wave file (just kidding)!

gbuck
Posts: 74
Joined: 21 May 2017

Post 04 Jan 2023

Sorry, I thought this was submitted to Feature Requests.

freshkidblaze
Posts: 144
Joined: 20 Oct 2020

Post 04 Jan 2023

gbuck wrote:
04 Jan 2023
I know Reason RP has a flip rack button, but it would be really nice for the standalone version. I have been experimenting a lot with the cabling lately.
And one on the Sequencer so I can see the back side of a wave file (just kidding)!
I agree, I use the rack plugin a lot and when I'm in standalone I keep looking for it .

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 10246
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 05 Jan 2023

Just press the Tab key. It works in the DAW and RRP.

I think the button was placed there in the RRP as in invitation to new Reason users who might not know about the back of the rack, as well as those who wouldn't know the shortcut key.

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 1929
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 05 Jan 2023

joeyluck wrote:
05 Jan 2023
Just press the Tab key. It works in the DAW and RRP.

I think the button was placed there in the RRP as in invitation to new Reason users who might not know about the back of the rack, as well as those who wouldn't know the shortcut key.
I think it is also that some DAWs don't automatically pass on all key presses to VSTs so a button makes sense. I'd have no problem with one being added to the standalone though.

User avatar
huggermugger
Posts: 863
Joined: 16 Jul 2021

Post 05 Jan 2023

gbuck wrote:
04 Jan 2023
I know Reason RP has a flip rack button, but it would be really nice for the standalone version. I have been experimenting a lot with the cabling lately.
And one on the Sequencer so I can see the back side of a wave file (just kidding)!
The TAB key. It's been there since Reason was released in 2000.

User avatar
crimsonwarlock
Posts: 1244
Joined: 06 Nov 2021
Location: Close to the Edge

Post 05 Jan 2023

Even better is to use a Streamdeck (expensive) or Touch Portal (very cheap, needs a tablet) to do this kind of actions.

Here's my Touch Portal setup:

Image
----
Most users think the reason their requests aren't being met, is because some developer somewhere in a cubical refuses to waive its magic wand.

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 1929
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 05 Jan 2023

Rather than just telling people to use the TAB key, perhaps consider why anyone would object to also having a button for it. After all, I don't recall anyone complaining about the button being on the RRP.

MuttReason
Posts: 275
Joined: 28 Jan 2021

Post 05 Jan 2023

Tab is simple, but FYI when using RRP in Ableton Live it's easy to switch from Live Session view to Arrangement view by mistake. Live has hard mapped Tab key to Session/Arrangement view toggle. I make this mistake all the time whenever the RRP plugin window is open but not in focus. I'm training myself to use the RRP Flip Rack button instead.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests