Lock a control when switching presets

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 603
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 07 Oct 2022

It's mostly self-explanatory:
- Right-click a device control and select "Lock"
- Now that control won't change when switching presets

Having this available across all rack devices would be super useful. Examples:
- Browsing synth presets with built-in effects disabled or customized
- Less messing with wet/dry when trying mismatched Send/Insert FX patches
- More creative stuff like turning synth plucks into pads by keeping the envelopes locked

The feature already exists in some other synths like Hive:
Screen Shot 2022-10-07 at 10.20.29 AM.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
w1pl0c
Posts: 181
Joined: 10 Oct 2017

Post 07 Oct 2022

that. sounds. amazing.

User avatar
huggermugger
Posts: 1414
Joined: 16 Jul 2021

Post 07 Oct 2022

For sure! A lock on the wet/dry mix for effects when cycling thru presets would be my main request.

User avatar
deeplink
Competition Winner
Posts: 1109
Joined: 08 Jul 2020
Location: Dubai / Cape Town

Post 07 Oct 2022

So there is a work around that involves using a combinator and CV.

It's pretty useful when say, browsing Europa patches but keeping the effects section turned off.
Get more Combinators, Patches and Resources at the deeplink website

User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 603
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 08 Oct 2022

deeplink wrote:
07 Oct 2022
So there is a work around that involves using a combinator and CV.

It's pretty useful when say, browsing Europa patches but keeping the effects section turned off.
You can technically use the Combinator CV inputs, but you have to use a non-constant CV signal. Otherwise, the setting won't refresh when changing patches.
This means the workaround only works for switches, not for knobs and faders, because the changing signal would affect the settings of those controls.

So it's not a general purpose solution, and it's rather tedious anyway IMO.
Unless you had a different workaround in mind?

User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 603
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 30 May 2024

Bumping this to point out it would let you lock one engine in Polytone while browsing presets for the other one ;). Some kind of multi-select or table view for this feature would make that easier.

Locking effects sections and wet/dry are still something I’d use daily.

User avatar
Rising Night Wave
Posts: 1260
Joined: 03 Sep 2019
Location: Vransko, Slovenia

Post 30 May 2024

if i am getting it right - the answer for OP's question would be: automate that feature. it will stay at the same value when switching presets in that coresponding RE.
Rising Night Wave & Extus at SoundCloud
HW: Asus ROG Strix G513QM | Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen | M-Audio M3-8 | M-Audio Uber Mic | Shure SRH1840 | Shure SE215 | Sony WH-1000XM5 | LG 49UK6400
SW: Windows 11 Pro | Reason 10 | Reason+

User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 603
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 30 May 2024

Rising Night Wave wrote:
30 May 2024
if i am getting it right - the answer for OP's question would be: automate that feature. it will stay at the same value when switching presets in that coresponding RE.
It's a feature request, not a question :puf_smile:
But either way, automation is not a solution. If you try this, you'll see the automated parameter does change when loading a preset until you next hit Play (or click that automation override button in the transport).
And it's not great to pollute your song file with needless automation lanes anyway.

User avatar
Rising Night Wave
Posts: 1260
Joined: 03 Sep 2019
Location: Vransko, Slovenia

Post 30 May 2024

ok, ok, i get it. i did not clearly read your whole post.
Rising Night Wave & Extus at SoundCloud
HW: Asus ROG Strix G513QM | Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen | M-Audio M3-8 | M-Audio Uber Mic | Shure SRH1840 | Shure SE215 | Sony WH-1000XM5 | LG 49UK6400
SW: Windows 11 Pro | Reason 10 | Reason+

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest