Curved automation for tempo

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 285
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 09 Jan 2022

Title is self explanatory, but I was surprised today to find this doesn't work.

Tempo automation is somewhat unique, because you can set min and max values by double clicking the values on the left of the editor. So maybe that's why it wasn't added originally.
Last edited by Pepin on 09 Jan 2022, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
huggermugger
Posts: 362
Joined: 16 Jul 2021

Post 09 Jan 2022

Does Reason even do curved tempo automation? Maybe I'm wrong, but I don't think so. Logic does, and sometimes a curve sounds more natural than a straight line.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 285
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 09 Jan 2022

huggermugger wrote:
09 Jan 2022
Does Reason even do curved tempo automation?
No, that's what I'm requesting :puf_smile:

User avatar
huggermugger
Posts: 362
Joined: 16 Jul 2021

Post 09 Jan 2022

You're surprised that Reason doesn't do tempo curves? lol

User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 285
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 09 Jan 2022

huggermugger wrote:
09 Jan 2022
You're surprised that Reason doesn't do tempo curves? lol
Not sure what point you're trying to make. All other automation in Reason supports curves, so it's rather surprising that tempo doesn't.

In fact, you can copy a curved automation clip from another lane into the tempo lane and the curve is preserved after adjusting the alien clip. So there's a workaround, and the lack of direct curve editing in the tempo lane seems like an oversight/bug:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Pepin on 09 Jan 2022, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 1872
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: 55°09'24.5"N 37°27'41.4"E

Post 09 Jan 2022

I know the story of the curved tempo automation in Reason, but I can't tell you about it without breaking the NDA :-)

User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 285
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 09 Jan 2022

orthodox wrote:
09 Jan 2022
I know the story of the curved tempo automation in Reason, but I can't tell you about it without breaking the NDA :-)
Intersting...
Seems like something that should have been fixed in a point update to R11. Since curved clips can already be pasted in, it seems like a small UI tweak to enable curve editing directly.
But I guess there's more to it than that.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests