Scale in the piano roll

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
User avatar
Kilsane
Posts: 184
Joined: 15 Sep 2016
Location: Villeneuve saint Georges - France

Post 26 Aug 2021

Hello,

Would it be possible to implement the scales in the Roll piano (as is done on FL and Ableton) with the addition of the possibility of creating our own scales in script form (this would allow you to include the most common scales and if we want more exotic ranges we would just have to create a script)

Edit: The script could be just a text file with the name of the scale and just contain the note intervals
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9254
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 26 Aug 2021

Well, this was requested quite a few times here and there also came ideas like Addins/Plugins for the sequencer and editor.

Feel free to make a feature request at RS:
https://help.reasonstudios.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
deigm
Posts: 87
Joined: 10 Oct 2018
Location: Australia

Post 26 Aug 2021

Would be nice

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 2780
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 26 Aug 2021

I use the multi view to do exactly what you want.

Create the scale in lane 1, drag it out for 4 or 8 bars
Create a new midi track and make sure multi view is enabled so that you can see the scale draw behind it.

Been doing this since multi view feature was added.
The only thing you need to remember is to draw the notes in blank space and drag into the correct position.


Not the simplest solution but it works perfectly well for me.
Hope this helps.
VST 2.4 MIDI It's definitely on the list of todos
What MIDI tools are you itching to use

ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ Time for a good long sleep ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ

User avatar
Kilsane
Posts: 184
Joined: 15 Sep 2016
Location: Villeneuve saint Georges - France

Post 26 Aug 2021

Loque wrote:
26 Aug 2021
Well, this was requested quite a few times here and there also came ideas like Addins/Plugins for the sequencer and editor.

Feel free to make a feature request at RS:
https://help.reasonstudios.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
I did, thanks for the info

User avatar
Kilsane
Posts: 184
Joined: 15 Sep 2016
Location: Villeneuve saint Georges - France

Post 26 Aug 2021

Billy+ wrote:
26 Aug 2021
I use the multi view to do exactly what you want.

Create the scale in lane 1, drag it out for 4 or 8 bars
Create a new midi track and make sure multi view is enabled so that you can see the scale draw behind it.

Been doing this since multi view feature was added.
The only thing you need to remember is to draw the notes in blank space and drag into the correct position.


Not the simplest solution but it works perfectly well for me.
Hope this helps.
I know this trick of misuse, but I would prefer something better integrated and which will bring a bit of added value to Reason compared to what the competition offers,
hence my idea of ​​being able to integrate our own ranges rather than be limited to what the sequencer offers

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 2780
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 26 Aug 2021

Kilsane wrote:
26 Aug 2021
Billy+ wrote:
26 Aug 2021
I use the multi view to do exactly what you want.

Create the scale in lane 1, drag it out for 4 or 8 bars
Create a new midi track and make sure multi view is enabled so that you can see the scale draw behind it.

Been doing this since multi view feature was added.
The only thing you need to remember is to draw the notes in blank space and drag into the correct position.


Not the simplest solution but it works perfectly well for me.
Hope this helps.
I know this trick of misuse, but I would prefer something better integrated and which will bring a bit of added value to Reason compared to what the competition offers,
hence my idea of ​​being able to integrate our own ranges rather than be limited to what the sequencer offers
I agree that a better solution should be available but as with many things in Reason this is my current work around solution. You can also use scales & chords with filtering turned on and chords turned off allowing you to draw in the scale as well along with custom scales.

But there's definitely room for a simpler option ;)
VST 2.4 MIDI It's definitely on the list of todos
What MIDI tools are you itching to use

ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ Time for a good long sleep ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ

STIM
Posts: 24
Joined: 28 Aug 2019

Post 27 Aug 2021

Yes I think after the high-res and new sampler we are getting in 12, this is my most wanted feature.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9254
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 27 Aug 2021

STIM wrote:
27 Aug 2021
Yes I think after the high-res and new sampler we are getting in 12, this is my most wanted feature.
Dont forget the browser improvement, which makes the search finally fast enough to make it useable.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

thedude
Posts: 29
Joined: 08 May 2021

Post 27 Aug 2021

yeah, this would be nice. right now, i've been composing by selecting scale in poly step sequencer and sending to track.

User avatar
aeox
Posts: 3024
Joined: 23 Feb 2017
Location: marsoo

Post 27 Aug 2021

Loque wrote:
27 Aug 2021
STIM wrote:
27 Aug 2021
Yes I think after the high-res and new sampler we are getting in 12, this is my most wanted feature.
Dont forget the browser improvement, which makes the search finally fast enough to make it useable.
It's really fast in R12

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests