Audio slice Regroove/groove quantize

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
Mysiak
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Mar 2021

Post 07 May 2021

This has probably been requested before, but I would like to be able to Regroove or even just apply groove quantize to slices of an audio clip in slice edit mode. I can bounce an audio clip to midi and extract the groove from the notes and even quantize slices to the global shuffle, but apparently not to a user groove template. (Please let me know if I'm missing a trick here).
Also, being able to have more than one audio clip open in slice edit mode would make it much easier to compare and adjust groove in audio clips by hand.

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 1408
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 07 May 2021

It might work if you load your sliced audio as a rex2 file into Dr. OctoRex, then send loop to track (disable pattern playback) and then apply the Regroove to that sequencer track.
If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace. ... Pool's closed due to corona.

Mysiak
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Mar 2021

Post 07 May 2021

Doing it that way doesn't time stretch individual slices to the length they need to be in the new groove, so you get gaps and overlaps (slices cut short). Not too noticeable in say a drum loop, but in more legato material like a synth riff, or a sample with any kind of ambience, it kills the flow and sounds terrible.

User avatar
Marc Swing
Posts: 96
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: Sweden

Post 07 May 2021

YES PLEASE I WANT THIS!!!!

CrunkNationEnt
Posts: 173
Joined: 28 Apr 2015

Post 08 May 2021

Good Idea, I 2nd this request.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests