Export MIDI from clip

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
User avatar
ljekio
Posts: 834
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Post 26 Aug 2020

Another simple addition that would make our work a little easier is exporting midi from a midi clip.
Now we can bounce a file from audio clips to disk from the sequencer, but to export midi there is only one option - export all midi events that we have in the sequencer.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1904
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 26 Aug 2020

Yes please
Perpetual license holder

stratatonic
Posts: 1261
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: CANADA

Post 26 Aug 2020

Really? It's just a simple 11 step process:

1- select midi clip from project
2- right click
3- copy
4- click File
5- select New project
6- right click
7- paste clip into new project
8- click File
9- Export MIDi file
10- close new project
11- save changes? click Don't Save

(Yes, it's a pain in the butt...I have caught myself right clicking on a midi clip to export many times...get it done ReasonStudios!!!)

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1904
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 26 Aug 2020

I think I have done it in fewer steps:

Delete all devices but the one midi channel you want to export.

Export

Control z until your instruments are back / close file without saving changes.
Perpetual license holder

User avatar
ljekio
Posts: 834
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Post 27 Aug 2020

PhillipOrdonez wrote:
26 Aug 2020
I think I have done it in fewer steps:

Delete all devices but the one midi channel you want to export.

Export

Control z until your instruments are back / close file without saving changes.
And minimum some extra clicks for select all channels and unselect target cnannel ;)
and don't press accidentally to save

dimapet
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Jul 2018

Post 27 Aug 2020

+ 1 This would be a very welcome addition.

ab459
Posts: 275
Joined: 28 Dec 2018
Location: Minsk Belarus

Post 27 Aug 2020

+1

robotgard
Posts: 135
Joined: 08 Sep 2018

Post 28 Aug 2020

Image
Last edited by robotgard on 09 Dec 2020, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Re8et
Posts: 971
Joined: 14 Nov 2016

Post 19 Sep 2020

1+1

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 1930
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 19 Sep 2020

stratatonic wrote:
26 Aug 2020
Really? It's just a simple 11 step process:

1- select midi clip from project
2- right click
3- copy
4- click File
5- select New project
6- right click
7- paste clip into new project
8- click File
9- Export MIDi file
10- close new project
11- save changes? click Don't Save

(Yes, it's a pain in the butt...I have caught myself right clicking on a midi clip to export many times...get it done ReasonStudios!!!)
You can merge step 1 and 2 into one. Then use a keyboard shortcut for 4-5, and you are down to 9 steps. By the way, RS will only fix workflow issues have more than 10 steps involved :lol:
(Sorry, my sarcastic humor was turned on today... :shock: )
10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 3952
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 11 Oct 2020

This would require Reason Studios actually thinking outside the box. What about dragging a midi clip from Reason to your desktop and the same with audio?
:reason:

Propellerhead Reason 11.3 / Cockos Reaper 6.25 / Cakewalk By Bandlab / Orion 8.6
http://soundcloud.com/creativemind75/iv ... soul-mix-3

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests