Shuffle button for Dr Octo Rex

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
User avatar
tobypearce
Posts: 555
Joined: 28 Sep 2015

Post 20 Jan 2019

I would like the Dr Octo Rex player to have a shuffle button so that you can apply global shuffle.
I know you can copy notes to midi track and apply shuffle there, but that doesn't help when auditioning new loops.

ReDrum has always had this feature.
https://onetrackperweek.com
One year - 52 tracks - Electronic Dance Music

User avatar
tobypearce
Posts: 555
Joined: 28 Sep 2015

Post 28 Aug 2022

Bump to myself. Not through vanity, just because I came on hear to see if anyone had requested this seemingly-easy-to-impliment feature, and found out that I did so myself a couple of years back.

It would be as valuable now as it would have been then.
https://onetrackperweek.com
One year - 52 tracks - Electronic Dance Music

User avatar
huggermugger
Posts: 711
Joined: 16 Jul 2021

Post 28 Aug 2022

There's a fundamental problem with trying to apply shuffle to a Rex file. Shuffle is a slight delay of every even-numbered event (usually the even-numbered 16th notes), so Shuffle depends on an even number of and consistent spacing of events/slices. Many Rex files don't fit this requirement, having more or less slices in various places in the pattern, or having slices that aren't tight to the beat (a loop played by a real drummer for example, or a vocal loop).

Shuffling the first 2-bar Rex loop here would work fine. The second one would sound weird though because it has an odd number of slices in each bar.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 2234
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 28 Aug 2022

I think using loop to track and then assigning Regroove mixer to the corresponding sequencer track does work to get the beat to shuffle.

User avatar
tobypearce
Posts: 555
Joined: 28 Sep 2015

Post 10 Sep 2022

jam-s wrote:
28 Aug 2022
I think using loop to track and then assigning Regroove mixer to the corresponding sequencer track does work to get the beat to shuffle.
It certainly does, and that route is the end goal for me every time. A shuffle button would allow much better previewing of how different loops fit into the groove of the track.
https://onetrackperweek.com
One year - 52 tracks - Electronic Dance Music

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests