Grain request(s)

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to the Props but you can still discuss them here.
scratchnsnifff
Posts: 1060
Joined: 21 Sep 2016

Post 22 Sep 2018

I love using grain for adding organic elements, as well as weird elements to my music

Grain is literally as if we finally got malström 2.0

However grain could use a couple of final touches
The biggest feature that grain is missing, is the ability to have multiple grain engines going on at once

For example, the waveform display and grain mode should have a second page, where we could add a second sample and grain mode for that given sample

Also I would find it fun to have the ability to modulate the waveform display rectangle, and have the ability to scroll that little drag-able box from left to right. Giving a better visual representation of where in the waveform you are modulating

A filter drive knob would come in handy, and the only other thing I can think of is to add some other creative grain modes

As far as creative settings that is something the propellerhead team excels at, mixing the ordinary with the creative

(Look at Thor and Europa. Europa for example takes wavetable synthesis and lets you use waveforms as filters, and scrolling through the resonance lets you have a wavetable within a wavetable)
Mayor of plucktown :evil:

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 4444
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 22 Sep 2018

Agree. Since there were already several threads about feature requests for Grain, i just say: Grain can be improved to be even better!
:reason: 10, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 2518
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 23 Nov 2018

4 things that struck me today using Grain:-

1) You can't auto set the start and end flags so they automatically detect the start and end of the sample.
2) The Grain Length parameter doesn't read in a time measurement.
3) There's no automatically setting / adjusting the sample to the tempo of the track.
4) Reverb Decay doesn't read in a time measurement either.

Also as mentioned already, you can't layer up two samples.
:reason:

Reason 10.2

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 4444
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 23 Nov 2018

Creativemind wrote:
23 Nov 2018
2) The Grain Length parameter doesn't read in a time measurement.
Just thought the same today...and than Grain crashed...again...and i closed Reason and did something else.
:reason: 10, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 2518
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 23 Nov 2018

Loque wrote:
23 Nov 2018
Creativemind wrote:
23 Nov 2018
2) The Grain Length parameter doesn't read in a time measurement.
Just thought the same today...and than Grain crashed...again...and i closed Reason and did something else.
Really?
:reason:

Reason 10.2

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 4444
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 23 Nov 2018

Creativemind wrote:
23 Nov 2018
Loque wrote:
23 Nov 2018


Just thought the same today...and than Grain crashed...again...and i closed Reason and did something else.
Really?
Yea, i think there is something odd in the movement of the position. I accidently had pushed the octaves 4 times up on my keyboard, hit a key and bam! Maybe it was the LFO moving the position or the Rate of the oscillator, dunno. Not the first time Grain crashed.

And yes, i played around with the Rate of the oscillator. Since it becomes rhythmic on some settings it would be cool to sync it or to have some time info instead of % values.
:reason: 10, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 2518
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 23 Nov 2018

Also, the GUI on Grain isn't the best. Why have they made it to appeal to a like a teenager. Really don't like the look of it. Now if you look at Padshop Pro, man, looks well nice / cool as f***.
:reason:

Reason 10.2

scratchnsnifff
Posts: 1060
Joined: 21 Sep 2016

Post 29 Nov 2018

I think I found a bug inside of grain via the mod matrix

Use an envelope and draw a hill or any shape that goes from the bottom to the top (something from min to max values using what ever shape)

Set the destination to the position in the matrix.

Set to 100

You’ll find that the position marker in fact, does not reach a full value

Iv seen it scroll about half the amount of the waveform display. Can someone recreate?
Mayor of plucktown :evil:

WongoTheSane
Posts: 1536
Joined: 14 Sep 2015
Location: Paris, France

Post 29 Nov 2018

scratchnsnifff wrote:
29 Nov 2018
Iv seen it scroll about half the amount of the waveform display. Can someone recreate?
It only does this if I let "Motion" set to "Envelope 1" (in the display at the top) and set another envelope (say, 3) to Position in the matrix. In this case, both envelopes are added together and the course of the cursor isn't identical to Envelope 3 (indeed, it looks like half the course, which I think is due to the fact that Envelope 1 in the top display is automatically bipolar while Envelope 3 is unipolar by default, but not sure). If I set Motion to FW Loop for instance, only Env 3 acts on the position and its course is the expected one, i.e. 100% of the display. Is it what you're seeing?

scratchnsnifff
Posts: 1060
Joined: 21 Sep 2016

Post 30 Nov 2018

WongoTheSane wrote:
29 Nov 2018
scratchnsnifff wrote:
29 Nov 2018
Iv seen it scroll about half the amount of the waveform display. Can someone recreate?
It only does this if I let "Motion" set to "Envelope 1" (in the display at the top) and set another envelope (say, 3) to Position in the matrix. In this case, both envelopes are added together and the course of the cursor isn't identical to Envelope 3 (indeed, it looks like half the course, which I think is due to the fact that Envelope 1 in the top display is automatically bipolar while Envelope 3 is unipolar by default, but not sure). If I set Motion to FW Loop for instance, only Env 3 acts on the position and its course is the expected one, i.e. 100% of the display. Is it what you're seeing?
Indeed this is what I am seeing.

I never thought about that. I always use envelope 1 via the mod matrix to move the position. I’ll try to use a different one when I get home.

Long live and prosper
Mayor of plucktown :evil:

User avatar
Heigen5
Posts: 262
Joined: 25 Sep 2018
Location: Lõvi-isa

Post 22 Dec 2018

My wish would be a timestretch/slice mode, so we could put rythmical loops into it and stay in sync with rest of the song.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests