Full MPE support (Roli users unite!)

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to the Props but you can still discuss them here.
botnotbot
Posts: 213
Joined: 26 Oct 2017

Post 27 Nov 2018

Here's a Google Drive with an init patch and some quick sounds in it: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1BnD-r ... 8H6nN-2sa0

In addition to disabling the dedicated MPE channel, you need to set the number of used channels on your controller to match the number you've put in your rack.

And since we are only almost MPE, you will need to switch your controller to send it's Timbre/Y-axis as Expression, aka CC 11 (for the sake of my patches, though we can also use breath).

Okay, we are not fully MPE. But we also don't get full 5D because release velocity is unavailable. However, what we do have is available per-voice, allowing for some interesting potentials in per-voice distortion and other effects.

For that purpose, the init patch comes with Expression routed to CV1 and Aftertouch routed to CV2.

Additional pre-routings: Expression goes to engine 1 and 2 shape and Aftertouch goes to Filter Cutoff and Drive.

PS. The Init patch isn't meant to sound good :)

botnotbot
Posts: 213
Joined: 26 Oct 2017

Post 05 Dec 2018

Anybody try this yet? Were my instructions confusing? Should I make a video to explain it?

Fnwiseguy
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Aug 2017

Post 26 Jan 2019

Yes, a video explanation would be welcomed! Much appreciated! I’m with you on this one.......a little expressiveness is better than none!

User avatar
Deerstetmusic
Posts: 12
Joined: 04 May 2019

Post 07 May 2019

Lets wake this thread up again :D

Roli Blocks and Seaboard user here who would love to get everything out of his beloved hardware WITHIN his favorited DAW , Reason that is :lol: :lol:
Its a real shame that so far i have to use a DAW i dont really like just for the sake of being able to take advantage of all the functionality of midi-hardware ;)

Fnwiseguy
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Aug 2017

Post 07 May 2019

I have been awaiting Mpe patiently since 2016. 3 years go by, and still not even a mention of MPE support. I’m wondering if it’s ever going to happen. I know there are a lot of other features that need attention, I get it. But the possibility of automation real time using gestures is just so intoxicating. I’m so torn. I purchased the Rise 49 for almost 1100 dollars in hopes we were a year or closer. I feel like Rolis beta tester. So far only Logic has roll implementation and let’s face it, Logic is nice, but the hardware required to run it has me frustrated. I never thought I would sell the Seaboard, but what good is it, when I can’t even record with it? Please for the love of Pete.......is someone at PH working on implementing MPE?

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests