Instances

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
Eddi-16
Posts: 153
Joined: 12 Aug 2017

Post 23 Jul 2021

Ability to create an "Instance" of any kind of midi or automation clip. If you change the instance, every other clip changes. A kind of Blocks in a more modern way.

This is standard in e.g. Sketch or Adobe XD for App Design and its a great way to save time.

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 9449
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 23 Jul 2021

Edin_16 wrote:
23 Jul 2021
Ability to create an "Instance" of any kind of midi or automation clip. If you change the instance, every other clip changes. A kind of Blocks in a more modern way.

This is standard in e.g. Sketch or Adobe XD for App Design and its a great way to save time.
That’s one thing I find blocks useful for. Blocks actually IS a more modern way of doing this, since this is a rather “old” MIDI feature even in apps like Pro Tools have had for years and IIRC was not as clear in use as it could be. What is it about using blocks for this that isn’t working for you?
Selig Audio, LLC

Eddi-16
Posts: 153
Joined: 12 Aug 2017

Post 23 Jul 2021

Too much changing for me with the views and I find it not intuitive. As far as I know you cant use more blocks at once. For example: you have multiple blocks layerd with different stuff in it.... this is not possible.

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 3839
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 23 Jul 2021

I still don’t understand why anyone would need to layer blocks. if we’re talking about MIDI, you can already add multiple lanes for the same instrument (to have one MIDI lane dedicated to kick and snare, another for toms, and another for cymbals, for example). they can all be manipulated/managed the same in Blocks as if they were separate instruments. you probably wouldn’t want that same functionality for audio tracks. I think layering Blocks would make it even less intuitive, not more.
I write bad music for good people

latest release—The Lake Door:
bit.ly/TheLakeDoor-Soundcloud
https://slowrobot.bandcamp.com/track/the-lake-door

User avatar
huggermugger
Posts: 116
Joined: 16 Jul 2021

Post 23 Jul 2021

I think Props would say "we've already done it with Blocks".

Eddi-16
Posts: 153
Joined: 12 Aug 2017

Post 23 Jul 2021

So for examplae: You work in the sequencer, you edit one of the synth clips or you edit your instruments / automation lanes and then, suddenly, you decide:

Yes, thats it. Thats how all clips should sound.

What would be the best usability solution to solve this problem?

I think, you should have some kind of "instance" option. i dont know how exaclty how this can work, but that's not my job, becuase I am not a UX concept guy for reason.
I just find blocks not good in "usability" . I can not change it, sorry, i just do not like the workflow. I dont like blocks.

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 3839
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 23 Jul 2021

Edin_16 wrote:
23 Jul 2021
So for examplae: You work in the sequencer, you edit one of the synth clips or you edit your instruments / automation lanes and then, suddenly, you decide:

Yes, thats it. Thats how all clips should sound.

What would be the best usability solution to solve this problem?
copy the clip(s) into a block, then paint the blocks back into your sequencer. couldn’t be easier. that’s one of the best scenarios I could think of for using blocks.

I do get the hesitancy though—it’s always weird when there’s a tool that can do what you want, but just isn’t implemented the way you’d prefer, and you kind of have to acclimate to it. I feel the same way about Session view in Ableton—a lot of people love it, but the way it works can be pretty confounding to me when I expect it should work differently than it does. I just need to get more comfortable with it though I think, and then I suspect I’ll enjoy it.
I write bad music for good people

latest release—The Lake Door:
bit.ly/TheLakeDoor-Soundcloud
https://slowrobot.bandcamp.com/track/the-lake-door

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest