Help Understanding Monitoring

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
Marketblandings

13 Jun 2023

I am a MIDI composer. But now, I've done a track with audio included. And there will be more.

The whole subject of monitoring baffles me. Like....I know that my interface lets me select between audio that's gone through Reason (latency) and audio before it gets to Reason. But how is that used in a session?

Then all the reason monitoring buttons and check boxes confuse me.
Monitoring thru the interface or through Reason? I guess I'm a "through interface" guy - but should I be?

Need tutorials. The Reason Manual assumes I know what I want - and I don't know what I want.

Prefer to read. I'm finding YouTube vids too quirky and random.

Thanks,
D. Mathews

robussc

13 Jun 2023

It's my understanding that it's all about latency (as you note). Back in the day routing things through the computer and back out to your headphones could introduce a noticeable delay between the performance and the sound in your headphones. Direct monitoring bypassed the computer and kept things in sync.

Nowadays, assuming a fairly modern computer and interface it's much harder to get into a position where there's a latency issue to worry about.

I"m sure some other Reasoners will have more detailed responses. :)
Software: Reason 12 + Objekt, Vintage Vault 4, V-Collection 9 + Pigments, Vintage Verb + Supermassive
Hardware: M1 Mac mini + dual monitors, Launchkey 61, Scarlett 18i20, Rokit 6 monitors, AT4040 mic, DT-990 Pro phones

selig
RE Developer

13 Jun 2023

I can probably help, what is your question? Monitoring is a general question and I could write paragraphs on it (wouldn't be the first time). But it would be more helpful if I knew exactly what you're experiencing.