remote.trace

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
RobotRon

27 Jan 2023

This is my first post so I hope I have put it in the right place. I am writing a codec for use with a Launch Control XL using Reason 12 and the remote SDK. The codec is working but not as I expected (not surprising as this is my first attempt) so I would like to add a simple trace to aid debugging as per the documentation. I have tried the following none of which produce any output in the codectest log.

remote.trace("Process midi")
remote.trace("current value : " .. g_knob_2_current_value)
remote.trace(tostring(g_knob_2_current_value))

Is the trace function still supported in reason 12/lua?

Have I completely misunderstood how the trace should work?

Does anyone have an example of a simple trace that works?

thanks

EnochLight

27 Jan 2023

RobotRon wrote:
27 Jan 2023
This is my first post so I hope I have put it in the right place.
Mod note: Welcome to Reasontalk! I moved this to the appropriate sub-forum. Good luck!
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

crimsonwarlock

28 Jan 2023

I have a LaunchControl XL, so I'm interested in this. I can't help you with your question right now, as I haven't done any codec scripting myself (yet), but I can test things on my side if you like.
-------
Analog tape ⇒ ESQ1 sequencer board ⇒ Atari/Steinberg Pro24 ⇒ Atari/Cubase ⇒ Cakewalk Sonar ⇒ Orion Pro/Platinum ⇒ Reaper ⇒ Reason DAW.

rmtcvolte

28 Jan 2023

RobotRon wrote:
27 Jan 2023

remote.trace(tostring(g_knob_2_current_value))

Is the trace function still supported in reason 12/lua?
This should work, but if I remember correct the trace function does no longer work with the latest version of codectest.exe. If you are on Win I could send you an older one.

RobotRon

29 Jan 2023