When do you use Compression and Limiters and why?

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
Mistro17

07 Aug 2022

Hi. I'm no professional but even doing my own home bedroom studio music, I want to have good results in my final audio file. In my music making journey, I'm at the point where I learned enough music theory to feel comfortable picking up any virtual instrument. I think I get the basic rules of mixing BUT, I also acknowledge I don't really understand why I reach for certain things that go beyond playing the instruments, panning and playing with the EQ. I understand some tools are for subjective reasons in shaping sounds but some are essential for a good output for listeners across many types situations when listening?

One of my biggest issues I want to overcome now is getting louder music files. For example, my music often sounds great coming out of my speakers but when played in a custom radio station in Grand Theft Auto for example, it's super low compared to professionally mastered songs I have in the same folder. Same when listening on cheap earplugs from my phone. I know it have something to do with using compression and/or a limiter (probably more things?). But before I just start grabbing those tools, I really want to know what I'm doing and why. And what should be done before reaching for those 2 particular tools?

huggermugger

07 Aug 2022

I use compression in two ways...

1) to manage occasional peaks that get too close to maximum (aka Peak compression). Managing those peaks makes it easier to push your levels without redlining. Peak compression is easiest when you have good metering in the compressor, because you often can't hear the results.