Approach to creating music: Breadth vs depth

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
bwbbd

30 Jan 2022

Hello everybody! This is my first post here, so I might as well introduce myself also (skip to the next paragraph if you want to get straight to the point). My name is Leon, I live in Cluj-Napoca, Romania. I started out with Reason around 2005 ish, but worked inconsistently, every now and then, so I can't say I have 17 years of experience. I was more consistent during 2008 - 2012, and from 2019 onwards I feel I am finally getting a rhythm going on. I can't say for sure what style I am producing, but my main musical heroes, among others, are (earlier) Death In Vegas, Massive Attack, Trentemoller, Apparat, Moderat, Jon Hopkins.These ones are my main sources of inspiration and the ones I look up to. Glad to be on board, and nice to meet you all. I hope to be as active as time permits.

I recently got into a debate with a producer friend of mine regarding different approaches to music production, quality/quantity wise. I hope to open up a discussion here and exchange opinions about this. What do you think about making as many songs as possible, that are good enough (quantity) versus doing songs that are "perfect" (to whatever your standards are at that current point).