Bouncing to 24 bit

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 1921
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 15 Apr 2021

Where is the option to change the bit setting and what does it mean?

It was recommended I bounce my stems for mixing at 24bit each, I can't find the option to change this and I'm unsure what it all means, same with dithering.

Thank you! :reason:

User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 1921
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 15 Apr 2021

I know I should be reading up on this but delay after delay and I have people waiting on me, I will just have to assume if I have sample rate set to 44,100 that means 24bit. Please advise if I'm wrong here cheers!

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 8341
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 15 Apr 2021

It's right there in the screenshot of your first post in your other thread :)

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7522746

Bottom right of that window: bit depth.

User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 1921
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 15 Apr 2021

joeyluck wrote:
15 Apr 2021
It's right there in the screenshot of your first post in your other thread :)

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7522746

Bottom right of that window: bit depth.
Thanks but I'm actually not bouncing with that method, I am soloing each channel and exporting which does not give the same option panel. Looking at that I take it I just bounced in 44,100 16 bit if that is a default when exporting but I'm really unsure. I am prepping a track for mixing this way, I hope these bounces are suitable...

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 9156
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 15 Apr 2021

Jagwah wrote:
15 Apr 2021
joeyluck wrote:
15 Apr 2021
It's right there in the screenshot of your first post in your other thread :)

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7522746

Bottom right of that window: bit depth.
Thanks but I'm actually not bouncing with that method, I am soloing each channel and exporting which does not give the same option panel. Looking at that I take it I just bounced in 44,100 16 bit if that is a default when exporting but I'm really unsure. I am prepping a track for mixing this way, I hope these bounces are suitable...
When exporting there is a dialog that asks for sample rate a bit depth, you may have just clicked "OK" without noticing?
Either way, keep at 24 as long as possible. It won't wreck your mix, it's more a "better safe than sorry" thing in most cases, especially if you have any low level recording (peaking below the 20 dBFS range).
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 2004
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 15 Apr 2021

The only way to get the setting is to bounce to disk or export, then you get the option.

User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 1921
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 15 Apr 2021

joeyluck wrote:
15 Apr 2021
Bottom right of that window: bit depth.
selig wrote:
15 Apr 2021
When exporting there is a dialog that asks for sample rate a bit depth, you may have just clicked "OK" without noticing?
Either way, keep at 24 as long as possible. It won't wreck your mix, it's more a "better safe than sorry" thing in most cases, especially if you have any low level recording (peaking below the 20 dBFS range).
Billy+ wrote:
15 Apr 2021
The only way to get the setting is to bounce to disk or export, then you get the option.
Thanks guys and sorry for seeming a bit frantic I really needed to get this done and it's my third night of trying.

Obviously I need to do some reading up on this stuff, even still when I 'solo and export' each of the tracks in my mix I get this dialog and there is no bit depth option I can see.


BOUNCE.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 2004
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 15 Apr 2021

After that dialogue you should be presented with another dialogue?

A small little one.

Your confusing me now lol.........

---Edit---

Try a quick read of page 532 in the Reason 11 manual!

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 2004
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 15 Apr 2021

IMG_2659.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 1921
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 15 Apr 2021

Billy+ wrote:
15 Apr 2021
After that dialogue you should be presented with another dialogue?

A small little one.

Your confusing me now lol.........

---Edit---

Try a quick read of page 532 in the Reason 11 manual!
OMG you guys were right, I've been double entering on file / export for so many years I never took notice of that dialogue on the second box, Selig even suggested I did this, wow.

OK so I bounced in 16 bit and will have to find out of that's an issue with the mix engineer.

Thanks again and whoops!

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 2004
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 15 Apr 2021

That's good and next time slow down take your time and look at what you do just as much as you listen lol

User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 1921
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 15 Apr 2021

Billy+ wrote:
15 Apr 2021
That's good and next time slow down take your time and look at what you do just as much as you listen lol
Image

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 2004
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 15 Apr 2021

I take it that you're all sorted and now you have time to look at cat gifs......... maybe you should use your time more wisely and read a few pages from the manual ;)

:lol:

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 2004
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 15 Apr 2021

Have a good read around here :-
IMG_2660.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Ottostrom
Posts: 435
Joined: 13 May 2016

Post 15 Apr 2021

Billy+ wrote:
15 Apr 2021
Have a good read around here :-

IMG_2660.PNG
Thanks for sharing this screenshot from the manual!
I forgot you can record the whole master that easily inside the project :)

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests