Any ways to key-trigger Run-devices with some CV-trick?

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
User avatar
Heigen5
Posts: 948
Joined: 25 Sep 2018
Location: Finland / Suomi

Post 27 Jan 2021

You can key-trigger Thor, but can you trigger lets say Matrix, Synchronous etc. with some kind of a CV-trick as well? (without a need to play sequencer).

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 1325
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 28 Jan 2021

Synchronous - no.
Matrix can run regardless of the sequencer, and you can trigger the Run button with Remote Override. No other way, afaik.

There is also Polystep Sequencer Player, which you can key-trigger in KEY mode inside a Combinator.
Never imagine yourself not to be otherwise than what it might appear to others that what you were or might have been was not otherwise than what you had been would have appeared to them to be otherwise. -- L.Carroll

User avatar
Heigen5
Posts: 948
Joined: 25 Sep 2018
Location: Finland / Suomi

Post 31 Jan 2021

orthodox wrote:
28 Jan 2021
Synchronous - no.
Matrix can run regardless of the sequencer, and you can trigger the Run button with Remote Override. No other way, afaik.

There is also Polystep Sequencer Player, which you can key-trigger in KEY mode inside a Combinator.
That's what I thought. I wish that all the Reason run devices would get updated and key-trigger added to them. Anyway, thanks for confirming this. :puf_smile:

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 6142
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 31 Jan 2021

Directre with whichever key you want assigned to each channel. You even get nice fades in and out which preserve delay and reverb tails.

Edit: oops, thought you meant with a Key on your keyboard.
Last edited by MrFigg on 31 Jan 2021, edited 1 time in total.
丰2ॐ

deeplink
Posts: 225
Joined: 08 Jul 2020
Location: Dubai

Post 31 Jan 2021

Perhaps not key-trigger, but I think you should be able to send the AMOUNT of modulation from the Matrix/CV device through a THOR and out the CV Output.
If you contain the whole thing in a combinator, then you can SCALE the amount of modulation with respect to MIDI GATE.

I think this should kinda work

User avatar
Heigen5
Posts: 948
Joined: 25 Sep 2018
Location: Finland / Suomi

Post 31 Jan 2021

MrFigg wrote:
31 Jan 2021
Directre with whichever key you want assigned to each channel. You even get nice fades in and out which preserve delay and reverb tails.

Edit: oops, thought you meant with a Key on your keyboard.
I meant key-tiggering the playback of the Run-devices with a midi-keyboard. :puf_smile:

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 6142
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 31 Jan 2021

Heigen5 wrote:
31 Jan 2021
MrFigg wrote:
31 Jan 2021
Directre with whichever key you want assigned to each channel. You even get nice fades in and out which preserve delay and reverb tails.

Edit: oops, thought you meant with a Key on your keyboard.
I meant key-tiggering the playback of the Run-devices with a midi-keyboard. :puf_smile:
Exactly...well take a look at DirectRE by Peff. It allows up to 8 channels I Think which can be selected using different keys on your keyboard and gets arounfd the fact the the Run button on Combinators is not automatable.
丰2ॐ

User avatar
Heigen5
Posts: 948
Joined: 25 Sep 2018
Location: Finland / Suomi

Post 31 Jan 2021

MrFigg wrote:
31 Jan 2021
Heigen5 wrote:
31 Jan 2021


I meant key-tiggering the playback of the Run-devices with a midi-keyboard. :puf_smile:
Exactly...well take a look at DirectRE by Peff. It allows up to 8 channels I Think which can be selected using different keys on your keyboard and gets arounfd the fact the the Run button on Combinators is not automatable.
It is automatable. But it can't be programmed so you could make key-triggered run-stuff with the Matrix, Synchronous etc. I think if they would do that, it would be awesome. I would not need to press Play to test the patches out then. :puf_smile:

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 6142
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 31 Jan 2021

Heigen5 wrote:
31 Jan 2021
MrFigg wrote:
31 Jan 2021


Exactly...well take a look at DirectRE by Peff. It allows up to 8 channels I Think which can be selected using different keys on your keyboard and gets arounfd the fact the the Run button on Combinators is not automatable.
It is automatable. But it can't be programmed so you could make key-triggered run-stuff with the Matrix, Synchronous etc. I think if they would do that, it would be awesome. I would not need to press Play to test the patches out then. :puf_smile:
But all you have to do is connect 8 run combis to it, press run on each and then switch between them in DirectRE.
丰2ॐ

User avatar
Heigen5
Posts: 948
Joined: 25 Sep 2018
Location: Finland / Suomi

Post 01 Feb 2021

MrFigg wrote:
31 Jan 2021
Heigen5 wrote:
31 Jan 2021


It is automatable. But it can't be programmed so you could make key-triggered run-stuff with the Matrix, Synchronous etc. I think if they would do that, it would be awesome. I would not need to press Play to test the patches out then. :puf_smile:
But all you have to do is connect 8 run combis to it, press run on each and then switch between them in DirectRE.
The whole thing is that you WOULDN'T need to extra press anything when pressing keys after loading a patch.

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 6142
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 01 Feb 2021

Heigen5 wrote:
01 Feb 2021
MrFigg wrote:
31 Jan 2021


But all you have to do is connect 8 run combis to it, press run on each and then switch between them in DirectRE.
The whole thing is that you WOULDN'T need to extra press anything when pressing keys after loading a patch.
Yeah...but if you start the combi running using the run button you can load new patches and it’ll continue to run right? The key presses just switch the on/off on the DirectRe channels.
丰2ॐ

User avatar
Heigen5
Posts: 948
Joined: 25 Sep 2018
Location: Finland / Suomi

Post 01 Feb 2021

Yeah, might be a good way for that purpose.
Anyway, the Polystep Sequencer Player might be the best bet like orthodox pointed out.

User avatar
mjxl
Posts: 470
Joined: 23 Nov 2018

Post 01 Feb 2021

Synchronous you could run by using Europa as the trigger, sending CV out from Env1 with a straight line up.
The combinator can then change the position or phase i think?
:reason: 11Suite + :re:
Patch Randomizer: topic - https://mjxl.net/remoter/
Complex-1 Community Refill: topic - https://mjxl.net/rsn/Complex-1%20Community%20ReFill.rfl

User avatar
Carly(Poohbear)
Posts: 2674
Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 10 Feb 2021

Anything that has a remote then you can use CV -> Midi loopback to control it, so things like the run button on Matrix can be control via from CV.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests