Solo Reverbs?

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
Troublemecca
Posts: 130
Joined: 04 Jun 2018

Post 12 Dec 2020

In Logic I just solo my AUX channels... and I can hear JUST the reverb... this is probably not the ideal method for mixing, but once I dial in the reverb settings, I do that to set the individual reverb levels of each track... is there a SIMPLE way to do this in Reason that I'm missing, which doesn't involve complex routing? I'm sure it can be done WITH complex routing, just want to see if there's something I'm missing on the board before I go down that rabbit hole.

TritoneAddiction
Posts: 2752
Joined: 29 Aug 2015
Location: Sweden

Post 12 Dec 2020

Good question. I would be interested in this function too.

pepe444
Posts: 22
Joined: 29 Jul 2020

Post 12 Dec 2020

Best method would be using the mixer 14:2 and patching like a real world scenario. the FX returns to a mixer channel.

PS: If you use it in teh Reason´s master section make sure the FX return is going for a new MIx channel. But solo doesnt work that way. you always have to send the signal in pre fader , solo the fx return channel and lower the channel volume so you can only listen to the FX full WET.
Another option is to use the effect inserted on that channel and blend with wet/dry knob.

Maybe someone has a better way of doing, lets wait for other users responses.
Last edited by pepe444 on 12 Dec 2020, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8271
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 12 Dec 2020

For send fx, just connect tge fx output to a dedicated mix channel instead of the fx return.

As insert fx, maybe SPEM RE can help.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

pepe444
Posts: 22
Joined: 29 Jul 2020

Post 12 Dec 2020

Loque wrote:
12 Dec 2020
For send fx, just connect tge fx output to a dedicated mix channel instead of the fx return.

As insert fx, maybe SPEM RE can help.
You talking about this one?
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... cts-mixer/

pepe444
Posts: 22
Joined: 29 Jul 2020

Post 12 Dec 2020

If you print the reverb on an audio tracks that will work. Its common procedure for real world studio work, not very pratical if you need to change , lets say, a reverb decay time..but...works.! eheh

deeplink
Posts: 145
Joined: 08 Jul 2020
Location: Dubai

Post 12 Dec 2020

Depends how you have your reverb sent up.

As a send on your main mixer;
Connect the control room output to your soundcard output.
Set the control room listen to the particular aux track.

On individual tracks;
I would simply create a parallel channel, and put the reverb on that channel (fully wet).

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8271
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 12 Dec 2020

pepe444 wrote:
12 Dec 2020
Loque wrote:
12 Dec 2020
For send fx, just connect tge fx output to a dedicated mix channel instead of the fx return.

As insert fx, maybe SPEM RE can help.
You talking about this one?
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... cts-mixer/
Yes. It helps with different routings and soloing. Maybe it helps you.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 8955
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 12 Dec 2020

I've always struggled to make any sense of a reverb on its own. For one, you cannot hear the pre delay (if used) because it's related to the dry signal. For another, there is nothing to relate to what you are hearing since we have never ever heard just the reverb in real life. As for setting the individual reverb level for each track, not sure how I would even begin to do that if all I was hearing was just the reverb.
It's not even that common in my experience to need to solo an instrument and it's reverb together (unless you're hearing a problem), since mixing is SO contextual. But in those cases where I need to hear the instrument/reverb, I get everything I need by soloing them together so I can hear the "sound" they create together. That's the #1 reason I typically just use the built in FX returns in Reason, so that with one Solo button press I can hear the dry and the reverb signal together exactly as they sound in the mix.

As for your specific question, probably the easiest way (as others have already said) is to switch to the Control Room output (instead of the Master Output) and click on the "RETURN" popup (defaults to "MASTER") for the FX in question.

Other options are not going to be as elegant and require FAR more clicking around just to hear the reverb by itself (Using a Mix Channel as FX return), or potentially not sound the same (using a Parallel Channel as FX Return) due to the way parallel channels are routed "pre-everything", because the signal you typically send to a reverb is post everything except fader (meaning, a Parallel Channel will skip any Dynamics/EQ/Inserts you have used on the main/dry sound). Hopefully that's all making sense… :)
Selig Audio, LLC

pepe444
Posts: 22
Joined: 29 Jul 2020

Post 12 Dec 2020

Thanks guys, i´ve learn a new thing in reason.
Indeed it works using the control room and listening to the FX returns.
Hope the original poster learned too.
All the best

User avatar
Ottostrom
Posts: 380
Joined: 13 May 2016

Post 09 Jan 2021

Loque wrote:
12 Dec 2020
For send fx, just connect tge fx output to a dedicated mix channel instead of the fx return.

As insert fx, maybe SPEM RE can help.
pepe444 wrote:
12 Dec 2020
PS: If you use it in teh Reason´s master section make sure the FX return is going for a new MIx channel. But solo doesnt work that way. you always have to send the signal in pre fader , solo the fx return channel and lower the channel volume so you can only listen to the FX full WET.
You guys probably know this already but if you plug the Send Fx to its own mix channel instead of a return then it can cause timing issues, as stated in this article: https://help.reasonstudios.com/hc/en-us ... what-s-up-

"Here are some signal feedback examples that could cause timing issues with the new audio rendering feature in 10.3 and later:

Returning a send effect on a mix channel. Since the mix channel can be sent to the same send fx, it's a feedback loop (even if you don't enable it).
"

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8271
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 09 Jan 2021

Ottostrom wrote:
09 Jan 2021
Loque wrote:
12 Dec 2020
For send fx, just connect tge fx output to a dedicated mix channel instead of the fx return.

As insert fx, maybe SPEM RE can help.
pepe444 wrote:
12 Dec 2020
PS: If you use it in teh Reason´s master section make sure the FX return is going for a new MIx channel. But solo doesnt work that way. you always have to send the signal in pre fader , solo the fx return channel and lower the channel volume so you can only listen to the FX full WET.
You guys probably know this already but if you plug the Send Fx to its own mix channel instead of a return then it can cause timing issues, as stated in this article: https://help.reasonstudios.com/hc/en-us ... what-s-up-

"Here are some signal feedback examples that could cause timing issues with the new audio rendering feature in 10.3 and later:

Returning a send effect on a mix channel. Since the mix channel can be sent to the same send fx, it's a feedback loop (even if you don't enable it).
"
Yea, that really sucks and i hope it gets sorted at some point. I use this technique only for fx, which do not depend much on timing like reverbs, delays, chorus and stuff like that.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests