Dr. OctoRex separating sounds to different mixing channels

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
User avatar
webpro
Posts: 50
Joined: 17 Nov 2018
Location: Riviere-du-loup

Post 24 Oct 2020

I'm trying to separate each drum sounds from a Dr. OctoRex loop, (each sound with it's own mixing channel).
So far so good except that i got here and there, the snare and the bass drum hitting the same beat.
How can i separate this?

It's a straight 4/4 disco beat.
I got the hihat on mix channel 1.
The kick on mix channel 2 ( but only 1/4 and 3/4)
The snare on mix channel 3 but you hear the kick of 2/4 and 4/4. Which should be on mix channel 2
So i'm stuck with a kick hit with the snare in other words


I used this tutorial

Old but worked!
Well it's working minding that nothing gets "in the way" so to speak...

Is there a way to work this out?
Or i'm fried?

Thanks

Oh yeah, got Reason 10 :mrgreen:

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1479
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 24 Oct 2020

Fried.

User avatar
Skimrok
Posts: 389
Joined: 12 Jun 2018
Location: U.K.

Post 24 Oct 2020

its a pain in the ……. the only slight way round it is high and low cut those 2 parts on its own channel , not the best but gives you slightly more control
Reason 11 Suite :reason: Akai White Mini Mk3 / Nektar LX25+ / MPD218 /Focal Alpha 80 Monitors / Mrs10 Sub

User avatar
webpro
Posts: 50
Joined: 17 Nov 2018
Location: Riviere-du-loup

Post 24 Oct 2020

Haaaaaaaaaaa crap

Thanks guys

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1479
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 24 Oct 2020

webpro wrote:
24 Oct 2020
Haaaaaaaaaaa crap

Thanks guys
I don't use rex for drums unless I'm willing to use the exact kick and snare, otherwise just used the kick and have another instrument doing the snare, for example, or only use the hats or whatever, it's all fair game. You don't need to use the entire sound palette of a loop; switch it up, be creative 😀

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8039
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 25 Oct 2020

I just drag the wanted slice from the browser into Reason or a sampler. From there i have full control.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest