LUFS -14, is it a mandatory rule?

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
ceasynth

01 Sep 2020

Hello everyone, I have been following this great forum since I have a Reason license (two years ago I bought Reason 10 hehe) but I never dare to speak or ask anything because I consider myself a complete novice and I know I would mess up. However, I have been thinking about this for days and I would like to know your opinion :P.

First of all I apologize for my level of English :S and I hope that everything I put is understood. Second, sorry this "big" text :S but I prefer to detail as much as possible my doubt.

I've been preparing an album for some time now, an electronic one (a kind of mix between Jarre/Vangelis/similar artists and Synthwave music).

I'm not a professional, everything I do is for hobby and to learn everything I can, I always learn new things from the synthesizers, from the DAW itself, etc.
In this album, I have set out to learn a little bit about mastering (not as a professional obviously but at least to make the mix sound a little better hehe).
And well, I'm learning to use which plugins are necessary (eqs, compressors, limiters, etc.) in what order and more or less when they would be necessary to use them.
I got to master one of my songs and, both personally and the opinion of a relative of mine (he is a professional but playing the piano, he has no knowledge of mastering), we think it sounds pretty good (or at least a little better than the original mixed song).

However, since some time ago I have seen both tutorials in Youtube and in other websites that you have to be careful with the LUFS and that should not exceed -14.
I have been investigating a little and more or less I understand the idea (the song should not bet too noisy).
Even I have read news of about Spotify that if your song surpassed -14 (or did not arrive) automatically it adjusted to -14.