City Pop Sound Emulation Questions

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
DynaChyner

08 Jan 2020

Hi! I’m fairly new to using Reason (and DAWs in general) and I have had trouble trying to make some music for my video game. I have a huge fascination of city pop, but i can’t figure out how to make the guitar sound right, no matter what I try. There aren’t that many tutorials for it either, and the few examples I know are for actual guitars
Here is a playlist of the album I am inspired by. The lead guitar on the third track is the specific sound I wish to emulate: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... SebwCRK5wm
(I’ve also been looking for a good piano/synth sound for the keyboard in the first track, but I haven’t had the proper opportunity to search yet)
I’ve read that the most useful pedals for what I want are the chorus and the compressor, but using them still doesn’t give me the desired effect. Does anyone have any tips? I don’t really want to resort to paying for patches unfortunately, but if there are any good ones for what I am after please let me know

Benedict
Competition Winner

08 Jan 2020

Hi

That I am 99.9% sure #3 is a real guitar!!! I know the horror. These sound like pretty skilled Jazz players to me, not a bunch of VST moused in. This why it feels so alive.

The first track is probably a Digital Electric Paino styled on the Rhodes and particularly the DX-7 imitation of it. That you can do with Europa in particular.

If you can't play like this the sounds won't ever feel right. You could have exactly those Patches on those Instruments with those Effects and you'd swear they were the wrong ones. I know because I had to learn this myself the hard way. What is turning you (and me) on is the work of the Composer, Arranger, and Players - Notes & Timing.