new to Reason - how to MIDI learn a control?

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
User avatar
gkillmaster
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 May 2018

Post 31 Jan 2019

I can't figure out how to MIDI learn to control a dial using CC# from my MIDI keyboard. Would love some help on this. I'm trying to automate a knob in Complex-1. In other DAWs I just right click and put the knob in a state where its looking for MIDI message to assign but I see no way to do this and can't figure it out from the manual.

Many thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Greg K

User avatar
mjxl
Posts: 118
Joined: 23 Nov 2018

Post 01 Feb 2019

Right click anything
Annotation 2019-02-01 102951.jpg
Rotate or move knob/button on this prompt:
Annotation 2019-02-01 103034.jpg
If Complex-1 doesn't do this, put it inside a combinator and assign those buttons/knobs instead. :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
gkillmaster
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 May 2018

Post 01 Feb 2019

mjxl wrote:
01 Feb 2019
Right click anything

Annotation 2019-02-01 102951.jpg

Rotate or move knob/button on this prompt:

Annotation 2019-02-01 103034.jpg

If Complex-1 doesn't do this, put it inside a combinator and assign those buttons/knobs instead. :)
Wow! Thanks a lot. Tripped up by the terminology! I did see that menu at some point but I didn't that it was meaning MIDI learn. I appreciate it! Another block was that I work with the cables displaying in Complex-1 and this menu does not come up when you right click on the parameters. You have to turn off the cables!

kinkujin
Posts: 96
Joined: 01 Mar 2018

Post 14 Feb 2019

Is Midi learn specific to a song or project, or is it "global"? Sorry, I have not rtfm yet.

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 633
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 14 Feb 2019

Remote overrides are saved within each song file individually. You might want to put some in your template. For global mappings writing a Remote map and codec is the much better way as it is much more flexible albeit much more difficult because there is no GUI and you might have to code some lua script.
If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace.

User avatar
Molotovbeatz
Posts: 81
Joined: 29 Jan 2019

Post 15 Feb 2019

But on MPK49 or MPK61 it's tricky because you have to setup 2 devices (Keyboard and Surface), at least for my case I was struggling to get my knobs and faders to control Reason interface, then I saw this video on YT where the guy suggested that the surface should be added too, I don't know if it's a bug or not.

And also Reason 10 does not recognize AKAI MPK61 (it does not show up on the list)

:reason: Instagram: @beatzmolotov
:reason: SoundCloud: Molotovbeatz
:reason: YouTube: Molotovbeatz

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests