Question about equalizing, surgical equalizing, etc.

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
Rumburak

16 Jan 2019

Hi! :)

How many equalizers can I put in order?

This is the equalizing on my pad so far...
Dune 3 Pad.jpg
Dune 3 Pad.jpg (366.16 KiB) Viewed 718 times
Can I still put som M-Class onto it?

I am not good at mixing so are there some technical rules?

Thanks! Chris
"Music is a Place to take Refuge. It's a Sanctuary from Mediocrity and Boredom. It's Innocent and it's a Place you can loose yourself in Thoughts, Memories and Intricacies." - Lisa Gerrard

Loque

16 Jan 2019

You can insert as many EQs as you want or send your channel to a new bus where you have an additional EQ. Repeat sending to bus for more SSL EQs.

But... Think of what you really want to do. To me it sounds like you want to EQ just to do something, maybe to somehow get some better sound...somehow... IMO.
Reason12, Win10

Rumburak

16 Jan 2019

I want to EQ my Pads so that there are all the frequencies gone that I do not need.
I have an idea, I am just not good on the technical side of production.

Thanks!
"Music is a Place to take Refuge. It's a Sanctuary from Mediocrity and Boredom. It's Innocent and it's a Place you can loose yourself in Thoughts, Memories and Intricacies." - Lisa Gerrard

AttenuationHz

16 Jan 2019

Hmm, If it requires a lot of EQ'ing to get it sounding right then it might be the sound source that's the problem. High resonated cuts will cause even more issues though unless you can use a zero latency EQ: drastic cuts at certain frequencies will cause other frequencies to resonate on some EQ's. Better off using a minimal amount of EQ work on a given sound source.

What are you trying to do with the pad exactly and what issues do you hear when auditioning the pad on its own?