Triggering Kong with Audio

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
SESSTank

05 Nov 2016

Evening all.
I have a query regards triggering pads on the Kong via an audio signal. This is a project that I started playing about with a while ago and have recently come back to.
So the situation is...

Got a live drum kit recorded but the snare sound isn't great. All the usual processing and editing tricks aren't fixing it, sounds like a faulty mic/cable used during capture (not done by me I'd like to add). So what I'd like to try is taking the snare signal and using it to trigger a decent snare sound on the Kong, either pre installed or a sample of my own. I could programme a new snare part manually onto a Kong track but would have to replicate the complete part, and it was clearly a very 'busy' drummer. I did find a video on this a while back but it was really complicated.

Any ideas/guidance/posting in the right direction would be great.

Thanks

QVprod

05 Nov 2016

Here's the simplest tutorial.

There are also some old (before Reason 6) tutorials on the Propellerhead Youtube channel from James Benard

Logismos

05 Nov 2016

SESSTank wrote:Any ideas/guidance/posting in the right direction would be great.
Thanks
Yes- i had ideas on this subject many times,and discovered there's a few ways to accomplish these types of triggers.
Other than already shown video,just a standard compressor+eq isolation, can do the same thing,but with certain compression devices,one can gain more control over signal strength/impact and durations for hit (drums+synths) triggering.

If it's possible for user to create,or simply use existing rex files- i made a couple of groovy combi's that make dr.octorex+rpg8+kong > sing as one.
As i was making these combi's,i stumbled upon the bizarre realization of making the rpg8 go in reverse! = which lead me to create a suitable rex <to> kong triggering system.