Is there a way to "record" CV data?

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
User avatar
NekujaK
Posts: 528
Joined: 09 Oct 2016
Location: USA

Post 04 Nov 2016

Is there a way to record CV data to an automation lane?

For example, if I have an LFO signal from a Subtractor unit manipulating a filter cutoff in Thor, can I "record" the LFO data so it appears as data in an automation lane for the filter?

Many thanks in advance...
wreaking havoc with :reason: since 2.5

User avatar
8cros
Posts: 707
Joined: 19 May 2015
Location: Moscow

Post 04 Nov 2016

Yes, you will help to Thor. Make 2 CV-Audio Converters.
Record For The Real Force
REASON RESONANCES

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 681
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 04 Nov 2016

You can use Thor to record CV into an audio track or you can hook up an "external midi instrument (EMI)" to the CV source and use a (virtual) midi-loopback + remote-override to map it to the control you want to modulate and then record it as automation data.
Both ways are not that straight forward, but there are some blogposts/videos explaining both.
If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace.

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 7738
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 04 Nov 2016

8cros wrote:Yes, you will help to Thor. Make 2 CV-Audio Converters.
To do this, take the CV into Thor (or use LFO 2 in Thor), and then route that to an audio output in the Mod Matrix. Patch the audio output into a new Mix Channel and then make that a REC SOURCE (in the Rack View for the Mix Channel).

Now you can create an audio track, and select Thor as the source, then record!

To play back the audio as CV, reverse the process using another Thor (put it in the insert for the Audio Track to keep things organized). Route the Audio from the "To Devices" jack in the Insert into Thor (any audio input), and use the Mod Matrix to route it to a CV output and on to your destination.

Make sense?
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
NekujaK
Posts: 528
Joined: 09 Oct 2016
Location: USA

Post 04 Nov 2016

Thank you for the responses. I'll give Selig's technique a try, but before I do... I just want to make sure this technique will provide the result I'm looking for. Basically, I want the data from the LFO to appear as data points in an automation lane so I can make edits to it and/or copy and paste it to other parameter automation lanes. I'm not sure if Selig's technique is doing that... but like I said, I haven't tried it yet.
Thanks!
wreaking havoc with :reason: since 2.5

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 681
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 04 Nov 2016

Both ways will give you data you can edit. While the Thor method keeps everything CV the midi loopback method converts the CV to midi/automation data which quite often has more limited modulation options on the parameter to be modulated when you compare it to the CV input. On the other hand it's easier to work with as it's easier to copy and apply to any other parameter. (The Thor method can do this as well, but you will have to duplicate the recorded audio track and hook up the internal Thor to the CV in of the other modulation target.)
If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace.

User avatar
rcbuse
Posts: 878
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: SR388

Post 04 Nov 2016

If you wish you record/edit and then loop CV data, I suggest Shape, but I'm biased!

https://shop.propellerheads.se/product/ ... fo-editor/

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 7738
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 04 Nov 2016

NekujaK wrote:Thank you for the responses. I'll give Selig's technique a try, but before I do... I just want to make sure this technique will provide the result I'm looking for. Basically, I want the data from the LFO to appear as data points in an automation lane so I can make edits to it and/or copy and paste it to other parameter automation lanes. I'm not sure if Selig's technique is doing that... but like I said, I haven't tried it yet.
Thanks!
No, my method is not recording CV as automation, it would appear I totally mis-read your original post! (sorry about that)
jam-s' method is what you want, if I'm now understanding you correctly.
:)

EDIT: one cool thing you CAN do with my method is load the audio as samples, then use NNXT to play back the audio/CV triggered from notes/CV gates. This can lead to very interesting and unexpected results, especially when playing the samples at different pitches or playing multiple samples at once.
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
NekujaK
Posts: 528
Joined: 09 Oct 2016
Location: USA

Post 04 Nov 2016

Thanks, Selig. Although your method wasn't quite what I was looking for, you opened my eyes to the fact that CV can be recorded to an audio track, which I was unaware of.

Jam's method looks a little more involved than what I was hoping to get into, but I'll try to find some more info describing the technique and perhaps give it a shot.

Maybe it's just me, but it would seem like "bouncing" CV data directly to an automation lane would be a nice feature to have in Reason. Personally, I like having everything laid out visually in front of me. Invisible CVs moving around in the background always makes me feel like I don't have full control over what's going on in a track. But that's just me.

Meanwhile, Shape looks great! Pretty much does exactly what I want, plus a lot more. Thanks for the suggestion, Panda.

I appreciate everyone's responses.
wreaking havoc with :reason: since 2.5

User avatar
ljekio
Posts: 633
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Post 05 Nov 2016

Another way - JS plugin for Reaper what convert CV data in audio stream as MIDI CC.
Why not loopback with EMI? Because so you cannot reach sharpen envelope.
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=62754

User avatar
Bloma
Posts: 515
Joined: 06 Sep 2015
Location: Melbourne

Post 29 Apr 2019

Hey, I'm wondering if anyone has been successful with any of these methods? I used this guide (https://www.reasonexperts.com/how-to-re ... th-cv.html) and it seems to work at first, but then stops registering. And when it did work, the automation seems too extreme, as it goes from maximum to minimum almost every time. Is there a way to get LFO data into a automation lane with Shape?

User avatar
O1B
Posts: 1512
Joined: 26 Jan 2015

Post 29 Apr 2019

"This can lead to very interesting and unexpected results, especially when playing the samples at different pitches or playing multiple samples at once."
I must try this. Thanks!
selig wrote:
04 Nov 2016
NekujaK wrote:Thank you for the responses. I'll give Selig's technique a try, but before I do... I just want to make sure this technique will provide the result I'm looking for. Basically, I want the data from the LFO to appear as data points in an automation lane so I can make edits to it and/or copy and paste it to other parameter automation lanes. I'm not sure if Selig's technique is doing that... but like I said, I haven't tried it yet.
Thanks!
No, my method is not recording CV as automation, it would appear I totally mis-read your original post! (sorry about that)
jam-s' method is what you want, if I'm now understanding you correctly.
:)

EDIT: one cool thing you CAN do with my method is load the audio as samples, then use NNXT to play back the audio/CV triggered from notes/CV gates. This can lead to very interesting and unexpected results, especially when playing the samples at different pitches or playing multiple samples at once.

User avatar
chimp_spanner
Posts: 2060
Joined: 06 Mar 2015

Post 29 Apr 2019

Interesting. As far as I'm aware the only way to input automation data is either using the mouse, or by MIDI input from a control surface. So...maybe this could be achieved using the external MIDI instrument? I mean, it has a CV in that can be mapped to a MIDI CC. I guess you could send it to your interface's MIDI out, run a cable back in to the MIDI input and then use "learn" to assign the MIDI input to a parameter and record it as though it were coming from the movement of a control or something? Would that work? I'd try it but I'm still working! And procrastinating on RT at the same time :D

Of course, bear in mind that automation is automatically reduced by Reason, so it wouldn't be as high res as the source signal, but for slow-to-medium speed modulation I think it'd do just fine.
Enjoy!

http://www.paulortizmusic.com

HP Envy J130ea | i7 4700MQ | 12 GB DDR | 2GB GeForce 740m | Komplete Audio 6

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests