New to Reason - Sequencer Questions RE: Snap and Filenames

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
scichosysdom

12 May 2016

Greetings,

I'm in the process of switching to a new DAW and have eyed up Reason for many years, so I finally picked up a used copy of Reason 6 (for technical and monetary reasons I avoided the newest version). I have some initial questions for which I haven't found a definite answer yet. These might be stupid questions.

Background: I had been using Adobe Audition for many years due to the absolute ease of use and functionality inherent to recording audio in Audition, it's a very intuitive experience and if you don't need VSTs/plugins Audition can't be beat for straight up audio multi-tracking. For drums, I used Fruity Loops. Again for what FL does, it's also pretty intuitive. So I start by trying to recreate an existing song as my first real dive into the Reason 6 workflow. I pick a short, simple, song with only a couple different drum beats and 2 recorded guitar tracks. The drum beats are small files exported from FL and are about 1-2 seconds on average. The way I worked in FL was such that I exported every drum beat individually rather than use the "song" structure in FL to export them as a whole song worth of drums. In this way I can always delete them and make changes to one small part of the drums for the song rather than have to export the whole thing every time a small change is made. Tempo is randomly chosen based on how I think it should sound, usually dependent upon the guitar/bass/synth riff that started the song idea. yada, yada. So I'm importing the handful of individual 1-2 second drum .wav's and the longer recorded guitar audio tracks.

-