Round robin Kong concept

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
User avatar
ljekio
Posts: 963
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Post 16 Apr 2016

Hello, I've made 4x4 round robin Kong device.
Four pads with four alternation layers.

Maybe somebody found more interesting solution for it?
round robin kong.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by ljekio on 17 Apr 2016, edited 2 times in total.

praznovsky.m
Competition Winner
Posts: 56
Joined: 11 Apr 2016
Location: Bratislava

Post 16 Apr 2016

Wow, looks good, im trying to make something like this now, so thanks for help :)

User avatar
ljekio
Posts: 963
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Post 16 Apr 2016

Im update zip with combinator's patch with small addition.
ROBIN/ALT button switch RR-mode to ALT (like at NN-XT ALT parameter)/
RESET TO 1 will reset position to first (A) layer for all of four notes (same momentary effect can achieve from ControlKong Pad#13) and while this button is pressed (red), Kong will use only first (A) layer.

Stranger.
Posts: 329
Joined: 25 Sep 2015

Post 16 Apr 2016

ΣΣΣ
Last edited by Stranger. on 05 Jun 2016, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
QVprod
Moderator
Posts: 3503
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 17 Apr 2016

Kong is able to do round robins natively with the NN-nano sampler. Just create layers and click the alt option for each of them
kong alt.png
Or is there something else you mean to accomplish?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
ljekio
Posts: 963
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Post 17 Apr 2016

QVprod wrote:Kong is able to do round robins natively with the NN-nano sampler. Just create layers and click the alt option for each of them
kong alt.png
Or is there something else you mean to accomplish?
Kong's Alt parameter (and same Alt at NN-XT) randomly choosing next layer for playing.
In my solution you can hear serial choosing of layers, A, B, C, D, A, B, C, D, etc.
If you're recording one shots by 3-4 mics with 2-4 variations you'll like this method.

User avatar
ljekio
Posts: 963
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Post 17 Apr 2016

Stranger. wrote:
ljekio wrote:Maybe somebody found more interesting solution for it?
well,you can add lots more hits with velocity layering with some of the modules++linking pads for cv output offsets-->thor switcher-->duplicate devices. :thumbs_up:
Also you can simply add more velocity hits into every group in place.
In Reason algorithm to be looks like:
1. create 3-4 track (for every mic), first mic is A, second B, etc
2. doing 3-4 (or more) shots with increasing loud for different velocity layers
3. cutting by rasor all groups of shots and creating from it new samples
4. naming kinda shot_A_1, where A - one of mics, 1 - number of velo layer
5. put it correct into named pads (for save pad names you must drag'n'drop only above opened nn-nano, but not above pad)

UPD: KongRR device with 8 RR groups is added to first post

User avatar
QVprod
Moderator
Posts: 3503
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 17 Apr 2016

ljekio wrote:
QVprod wrote:Kong is able to do round robins natively with the NN-nano sampler. Just create layers and click the alt option for each of them
kong alt.png
Or is there something else you mean to accomplish?
Kong's Alt parameter (and same Alt at NN-XT) randomly choosing next layer for playing.
In my solution you can hear serial choosing of layers, A, B, C, D, A, B, C, D, etc.
If you're recording one shots by 3-4 mics with 2-4 variations you'll like this method.
Got it, your method would be useful if you didn't want to sum those mics together into one file.

Peter

Post 17 Apr 2016

Dope. Thanks!

User avatar
Oquasec
Posts: 2849
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Post 10 May 2017

Note names on the pads...what...
Producer/Programmer.
Reason, FLS and Cubase NFR user.

rumbero
Posts: 6
Joined: 12 Jun 2023

Post 29 Jun 2023

ljekio wrote:
16 Apr 2016
Maybe somebody found more interesting solution for it?
Definitely. Groove Agent 5 by Steinberg: does Round Robin like a charm.
Groove Agent 5 SE (comes with Cubase Pro) will do the job as well.
I recommend to use Reason as a rack in Cubase Pro.

User avatar
Jackjackdaw
Posts: 1400
Joined: 12 Jan 2019

Post 29 Jun 2023

I would start using a dedicated multi sampler rather than hack at Kong.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest