Automation Presets (Like FL Studio)

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
User avatar
dagtastik
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Feb 2019
Location: Tampa Bay FL

Post 14 May 2024

I was watching a RealLPC tutorial (guitar VST) on YouTube and they were using FL Studio as the DAW. While they were drawing-in the pitch bend and mod wheel events, I saw the coolest thing: An apparent right-click on an edit point that opened up a drop-down menu of presets with names like "stairs, pulse, wave" and whatnot that were immediately inserted into the window. Further, with (maybe) and option or shift key, the intensity of the wave or stairs could easily be modified.

I was wondering if this has been discussed or suggested here or with Reason as a wish list item. I've been a Reason user since 2.5 and would consider myself to (somewhat) know my way around, but I'm almost half-holding my breath and hoping someone responds with, "Hey stupid, Reason does that, too!" and explains how to do such a cool thing!
Dagtastik
www.dagtastik.com

Reason 12, Mac Mini, Too Many VSTs from UVI, Arturia, G-Force, Native Instruments, Impact Soundworks, IK Multimedia, Toontrack, and Waves

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 3072
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 14 May 2024

I think that feature is a subset of the so called "sequencer improvements" that are requested here on a regular basis.

User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 466
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 15 May 2024

Agreed it would be nice.

The "automation toolbox" file is often shared as a workaround:
viewtopic.php?t=7262997

And stuff like Synchronous can sometimes work, if CV modulation is an option.

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 11801
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 15 May 2024

Pro Tools did a similar thing many years ago, when drawing automation. If you selected a waveform, such as triangle, then selected a pan control, you could draw auto-pan into the timeline at the current grid setting. Dragging left to right added the waveform over that part of the timeline, dragging up/down set the depth (height) overall. Once drawn you can edit points like any automation. Such a quick way to draw repeating automation curves/shapes. :)
Selig Audio, LLC

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 6 guests