Dolby Atmos Composer by Fiedler Audio - mix and export Atmos from within Reason!!

Discuss VST stuff here!
User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 20 Apr 2023

This is AMAZING!! It works really well and is so simple to use :clap:

In Reason, you just place the Dolby Atmos Composer plugin on the master and place an instance of the Beam plugin in the insert of each channel. And boom—you can now mix up to 9.1.6 within Reason! You can then export the Atmos ADM/BWF file from the Composer plugin. You can also use the binaural monitoring and export binaural WAV as well.

There is intro pricing until May 5 and there is a 14-day trial. There is also an upgrade path if you decide to get the Essential version and upgrade to the full version later.

Dolby Atmos Composer: $249 (intro price $199)
Dolby Atmos Composer Essential: $149 (intro price $99)
[EDIT: Essential is now free]

https://fiedler-audio.com/dolby-atmos-composer/





Check out the in-depth tutorial playlist on YouTube

Next generation Dolby Atmos tools
Approved by Dolby Labs
  • Produce Dolby Atmos content on any DAW, even if the DAW is not capable of multichannel audio
  • Monitor on multichannel speakers from any DAW directly from the Dolby Atmos Composer plugin
  • Up to 9.1.6 for monitoring
  • Use personalized HRTF for binaural monitoring
  • Easy setup without the need of manual routing configuration, no external app required
  • Connects to Dolby Atmos Beam and Spacelab (from version 1.5 onwards)
Dolby Atmos Beam - panning plugin
  • Position your inputs as objects around the listener easily
  • Record movement with mouse as automation
  • Convenient mapping of parameters to all major Pro Tools control surfaces
  • Panning to composite speaker layout or as dynamic objects
  • Quickly set objects to predefined speaker positions
Spacelab connection (V 1.5 onwards)
  • Direct connection of our world class 3D reverb to the Dolby Atmos Composer circumventing DAW limitations
  • Spacelab sources as dynamic objects in Atmos
  • Arbitrary speaker layouts as composite in Dolby Atmos
Export/Import
  • Export Dolby Atmos ADM/BWF for distributing to all major platforms
  • Simultaneous export of speaker and headphone outputs of the renderer
  • Import ADM/BWF files for playback, corrections and re-export

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 3916
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 20 Apr 2023

What are the best Atmos compatible headphones?
757365206C6F67696320746F207365656B20616E73776572732075736520726561736F6E20746F2066696E6420776973646F6D20676574206F7574206F6620796F757220636F6D666F7274207A6F6E65206F7220796F757220696E737069726174696F6E2077696C6C206372797374616C6C697A6520666F7265766572

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 20 Apr 2023

bxbrkrz wrote:
20 Apr 2023
What are the best Atmos compatible headphones?
By Atmos compatible, do you mean headphones that work with the 'Dolby Atmos for Headphones' app to decode Atmos?

With Dolby Atmos Composer, you can choose binaural monitoring, so any set of headphones will work. I've been using my Sony MDR-7506 headphones.

You can even import a personalized HRTF using Dolby's PHRTF app (currently in beta) https://professional.dolby.com/phrtf

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 20 Apr 2023

Here's a video showing the Dolby Atmos Composer in another stereo-only DAW, FL Studio:


User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 3916
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 20 Apr 2023

joeyluck wrote:
20 Apr 2023
bxbrkrz wrote:
20 Apr 2023
What are the best Atmos compatible headphones?
By Atmos compatible, do you mean headphones that work with the 'Dolby Atmos for Headphones' app to decode Atmos?

With Dolby Atmos Composer, you can choose binaural monitoring, so any set of headphones will work. I've been using my Sony MDR-7506 headphones.

You can even import a personalized HRTF using Dolby's PHRTF app (currently in beta) https://professional.dolby.com/phrtf
Binaural mode. I see :thumbs_up:
757365206C6F67696320746F207365656B20616E73776572732075736520726561736F6E20746F2066696E6420776973646F6D20676574206F7574206F6620796F757220636F6D666F7274207A6F6E65206F7220796F757220696E737069726174696F6E2077696C6C206372797374616C6C697A6520666F7265766572

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 21 Apr 2023

Here is one of the tutorial videos which discusses monitoring.



And here's another very useful video about mixing Atmos for headphones. In the video she is using Dolby Atmos Renderer, but much of it applies to Dolby Atmos Composer.


User avatar
Despondo
Competition Winner
Posts: 1048
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Charlotte, NC

Post 18 Jan 2024

I ended up picking the full version up when it was half price at the end of last year. I've been fairly successful using it on a few projects in Reason, but have some questions regarding using effects and mastering chain with this. I got their Spacelab Interstellar reverb as well ,but not sure how to have this as part of the setup in Reason.

Currently, I set up busses with the channels I wanted for the "Bed" using the Beam plugin on the bus, and then route individual instruments to those busses, but want to add some send or instrument effects as necessary to process the sounds further. Not sure how to accomplish this with this setup.

Any tips or tricks on the above?

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 11980
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 18 Jan 2024

joeyluck wrote:
20 Apr 2023

Dolby Atmos Composer: $199 (reduced from $249)
Dolby Atmos Composer Essential: $99 (reduced from $149)
Essentials reduced even further, now FREE!!!
https://fiedler-audio.com/

Keeps getting cheeper and cheeper…hmmmmm. ;)
Selig Audio, LLC


User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 18 Jan 2024

selig wrote:
18 Jan 2024
joeyluck wrote:
20 Apr 2023

Dolby Atmos Composer: $199 (reduced from $249)
Dolby Atmos Composer Essential: $99 (reduced from $149)
Essentials reduced even further, now FREE!!!
https://fiedler-audio.com/

Keeps getting cheeper and cheeper…hmmmmm. ;)
Yes I know :) I posted about it earlier ;)

viewtopic.php?f=48&t=7533394

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 18 Jan 2024

Chi-Individual wrote:
18 Jan 2024
Does the essential version export the binaural mix?
Yes you can. You can choose ADM/BFW and WAV. The WAV will output the selected monitoring type (such as binaural).

And then of course if you export from Reason as you normally do with Dolby Atmos Composer engaged, what you will hear in the export is the monitoring setting you have chosen.

Another cool thing is that it supports personalized HRTF. I used this: https://professional.dolby.com/phrtf
https://phrtf.dolby.com/

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 19 Jan 2024

Despondo wrote:
18 Jan 2024
I ended up picking the full version up when it was half price at the end of last year. I've been fairly successful using it on a few projects in Reason, but have some questions regarding using effects and mastering chain with this. I got their Spacelab Interstellar reverb as well ,but not sure how to have this as part of the setup in Reason.

Currently, I set up busses with the channels I wanted for the "Bed" using the Beam plugin on the bus, and then route individual instruments to those busses, but want to add some send or instrument effects as necessary to process the sounds further. Not sure how to accomplish this with this setup.

Any tips or tricks on the above?
Hey sorry I'm not sure if I'm following correctly. I use Beam plugins in the inserts of individual channels. If I want to add effects to a channel, I just place those effects before the Beam plugin in the insert chain. If wanting to use Spacelab with Atmos Composer, there's multiple ways to make use of Spacelab, such as connecting channels to Spacelab via Spacelab Beam and then connecting Spacelab to Atmos Composer or putting Spacelab on a bus and sending channels to that bus.

Perhaps this video might help?


User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 11980
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 19 Jan 2024

joeyluck wrote:
18 Jan 2024
selig wrote:
18 Jan 2024

Essentials reduced even further, now FREE!!!
https://fiedler-audio.com/

Keeps getting cheeper and cheeper…hmmmmm. ;)
Yes I know :) I posted about it earlier ;)

viewtopic.php?f=48&t=7533394
I saw your post, I was more poking a little fun at the idea that a $150 product is reduced to $100, then reduced to FREE.
I'm left wondering how robust the market is for this type of plugin, and if they initially overestimated the low end of the market.
probably should have been more "on the nose" with my comment…. ;)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
challism
Moderator
Posts: 4695
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Fanboy Shill, Boomertown

Post 19 Jan 2024

Thanks for the heads up on this, Joey! Much appreciated. Looks like great software.
Players are to MIDI what synthesizers are to waveforms.

ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 2599
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 19 Jan 2024

selig wrote:
19 Jan 2024
I'm left wondering how robust the market is for this type of plugin, and if they initially overestimated the low end of the market.
If the recent Studio One release is anything to go by then, yes, they overestimated the low end of the market because S1 now has it built-in to the DAW. I imagine many others will follow suit which will leave plugins such as this trying to differentiate themselves as better than the built-in ones. That can be done but it's not so easy.

I still can't get excited by Atmos for music. Apple have embraced it so it might stick around where other technologies have faded but time will tell I guess.

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 19 Jan 2024

selig wrote:
19 Jan 2024
joeyluck wrote:
18 Jan 2024


Yes I know :) I posted about it earlier ;)

viewtopic.php?f=48&t=7533394
I saw your post, I was more poking a little fun at the idea that a $150 product is reduced to $100, then reduced to FREE.
I'm left wondering how robust the market is for this type of plugin, and if they initially overestimated the low end of the market.
probably should have been more "on the nose" with my comment…. ;)
Haha well that was the intro price and 9 months ago, but yeah. I haven't seen a statement about it, but I would imagine it's to get more people in the door and doesn't necessarily mean that a product isn't selling. Or maybe it is a bit about that. I could see that many people considering buying these plugins might've ultimately bought the full version.

Maybe they investigated creating a separate free version, decided it would be too stripped down and/or would cannibalize Essential and ultimately decided to just make Essential free to keep things simpler?

Atmos is definitely popular on all the major platforms. It's something every person publishing music on these platforms has to consider. Many people on various DAWs prefer Fielder Audio's plugins and approach, and then of course for those of us on stereo only DAWs like Reason, Live, Bitwig, etc. these plugins are necessary to mix in Atmos.

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 19 Jan 2024

DaveyG wrote:
19 Jan 2024
I imagine many others will follow suit which will leave plugins such as this trying to differentiate themselves as better than the built-in ones. That can be done but it's not so easy.
Stereo-only DAWs would need major updates. I doubt very much that Reason and the other will have that any time soon.

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 2599
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 19 Jan 2024

joeyluck wrote:
19 Jan 2024
DaveyG wrote:
19 Jan 2024
I imagine many others will follow suit which will leave plugins such as this trying to differentiate themselves as better than the built-in ones. That can be done but it's not so easy.
Stereo-only DAWs would need major updates. I doubt very much that Reason and the other will have that any time soon.
Atmos is almost certainly one of the headline new features in R13, to be released next month.

Yeah, OK. I made all of that up. Atmos mixing will arrive in Reason in around 2028, just after Apple drop support for it. R13 might arrive in 1024. Maybe. :lol:

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 19 Jan 2024

Also keep in mind that these plugins aren't just about Atmos, and aside from exporting binaural mixes, also for exporting in any of the various surround formats.

User avatar
Despondo
Competition Winner
Posts: 1048
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Charlotte, NC

Post 19 Jan 2024

joeyluck wrote:
19 Jan 2024
Despondo wrote:
18 Jan 2024
I ended up picking the full version up when it was half price at the end of last year. I've been fairly successful using it on a few projects in Reason, but have some questions regarding using effects and mastering chain with this. I got their Spacelab Interstellar reverb as well ,but not sure how to have this as part of the setup in Reason.

Currently, I set up busses with the channels I wanted for the "Bed" using the Beam plugin on the bus, and then route individual instruments to those busses, but want to add some send or instrument effects as necessary to process the sounds further. Not sure how to accomplish this with this setup.

Any tips or tricks on the above?
Hey sorry I'm not sure if I'm following correctly. I use Beam plugins in the inserts of individual channels. If I want to add effects to a channel, I just place those effects before the Beam plugin in the insert chain. If wanting to use Spacelab with Atmos Composer, there's multiple ways to make use of Spacelab, such as connecting channels to Spacelab via Spacelab Beam and then connecting Spacelab to Atmos Composer or putting Spacelab on a bus and sending channels to that bus.

Perhaps this video might help?

Thanks for the response. I'm going to dig into this a bit more over the weekend. Thanks for the video link!

splitpen
Posts: 149
Joined: 22 Mar 2017

Post 29 Jan 2024

Have anyone already worked a session with the plugins?
I'm experiencing some delay compensation issues with the plugin on Reason 11.3.

When i have a plugin which causes delay before the beam plugin (lineair phase eq), it isn't correctly compensated by the plugin.
There is a workaround explained in this video.



But the manual compensation isn't saved with the session and resets to zero after reloading the session.
The manually compensation on the back of the mix channel didn't work either. All the panning settings etc are saved correctly though.
Allready mailed Fiedler about the issue. Could someone try it out in 12.7?
Latest track: https://youtu.be/R5hIQQzJUOs?si=wJCMb2xD5mj1znXx
Reasonstudios 11 Roland Quadcapture | AMD Ryzen 5900x|Elektron Analog Heat Mk2|Diy 3 way SB Acoustics/Scanspeak studiomonitors | AKG K702 | Key­sta­tion 61 MK3 |BCR2000 |X-Touch Ext | MP Midi

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2024

Hey splitpen, no I'm not having any issues. Where are you placing the plugins (the Beam plugins and the Composer plugin)? Do you have Reason's delay comp enabled?

splitpen
Posts: 149
Joined: 22 Mar 2017

Post 29 Jan 2024

Hi Joey,

Thanks for you reaction. The beam is last on signal chain inside bus insert after the instrument.
The composer is on the master insert. Delay compensation is set to on inside reason.
When i remove the beam plugin and routing, the delay correction works like it should.
It is a latency problem like the one in protools, but from my understanding on your reaction in 12.7 it works good?
Delay compensation en manual delay compensation inside the beam plugin and save it with session also works? (click on logo of beam to bring up tab to correct it)
Latest track: https://youtu.be/R5hIQQzJUOs?si=wJCMb2xD5mj1znXx
Reasonstudios 11 Roland Quadcapture | AMD Ryzen 5900x|Elektron Analog Heat Mk2|Diy 3 way SB Acoustics/Scanspeak studiomonitors | AKG K702 | Key­sta­tion 61 MK3 |BCR2000 |X-Touch Ext | MP Midi

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 11177
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 29 Jan 2024

splitpen wrote:
29 Jan 2024
Hi Joey,

Thanks for you reaction. The beam is last on signal chain inside bus insert after the instrument.
The composer is on the master insert. Delay compensation is set to on inside reason.
When i remove the beam plugin and routing, the delay correction works like it should.
It is a latency problem like the one in protools, but from my understanding on your reaction in 12.7 it works good?
Delay compensation en manual delay compensation inside the beam plugin and save it with session also works? (click on logo of beam to bring up tab to correct it)
Correct, I don't have delay comp issues. In one channel's insert I can put plugins with a ton of delay before the Beam plugin and in another channel's insert I can put just a Beam plugin and there are no issues. I don't have your particular plugin "linear phase eq" to test that, but are you having delay comp issues with any plugin that introduces latency?

I tested the manual sample delay setting and can confirm that it doesn't save with the project. I hadn't encountered that because I haven't had to use it in Reason.

splitpen
Posts: 149
Joined: 22 Mar 2017

Post 29 Jan 2024

Thanks for testing & checking it out!
So the manually adjust and save seems a like bug in the plugin, the automatic delay correction a reason version issue.
Latest track: https://youtu.be/R5hIQQzJUOs?si=wJCMb2xD5mj1znXx
Reasonstudios 11 Roland Quadcapture | AMD Ryzen 5900x|Elektron Analog Heat Mk2|Diy 3 way SB Acoustics/Scanspeak studiomonitors | AKG K702 | Key­sta­tion 61 MK3 |BCR2000 |X-Touch Ext | MP Midi

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests