Issue with retriggering envelope

Discuss VST stuff here!
Ja ja

02 Feb 2023

Dear Reasontalk,

Lately, I've been spending quite some time, trying to improve my sound design skills (I'm still a beginner though). Mainly, I'm using KiloHearts Phase Plant within the Reason DAW, version 12.5. A few weeks ago I noticed different behavior between Phase Plant and Reason when triggering an envelope. I'm now looking for a way to let Reason behave the same as Phase Plant but I can't figure it out. I was hoping that one of you could help me solve this.

I made a figure to explain the issue, see attachment.

In this example, three notes are triggered subsequently in the sequencer without releasing any of the notes. This note information is send via arrow (1) to an instrument, Subtractor in this case. The audio signal from Subtractor is then routed through a Scream distortion unit and via arrow (2). The sound is then send to the general mixer via arrow (3). To create some movement in the sound, I would like to control the drive of the Scream distortion with an envelope, arrow (5). This envelope should be retriggered every time a note is hit (the blue arrows with trigger 1, 2 and 3 in the figure).

Within Phase Plant, an envelope is retriggered everytime a new note is hit. When I try to recreate this behavior in Reason, I cannot get this to work. All envelopes I tried only react to trigger 1 and ignore trigger 2 and 3. Is there a envelope in Reason which responds to all three triggers? I tried the following envelopes (envelope generators):

- Europa
- Grain
- Thor
- Subtractor
- Malström
- Lectric Panda Shape

I tested this by creating a Combinator, inserting a Subtractor, Scream and "envelope generator" in the combinator and then routing the CV output of the "envelope generator" to the CV input damage control on the Scream distortion unit (arrow 5). For all "envelope generators" the behavior was the same: the envelope only retriggers at trigger 1 and ignores trigger 2 and 3.