Robotic Bean's PORTATRON on sale for 48% off!!!

Discuss VST stuff here!
User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 8057
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Imladris

Post 23 Dec 2022

ekss wrote:
23 Dec 2022
Yes, that must be it. It would be more fair to compare in 100% thou - and then it's rather big, at least not microscopic.
Totally agree at 100% (Reason zoom), Portatron is rather large (easily larger than a stock rack device). But that’s why actual GUI/UX zoom is needed in Portatron - many users (myself included) prefer to run Reason zoomed in, especially when running on higher resolution displays. Just saying - it’s not an unreasonable feature request in 2022.
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 8057
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Imladris

Post 23 Dec 2022

buddard wrote:
23 Dec 2022
The GUI looks big and super sharp on my retina display (3456 x 2234), with one graphics pixel for each retina pixel. So I'm guessing that the scale is messed up on the Windows version somehow? And I have no idea if it's like this for all Windows users or for some of them?
If you were running this on a 32” or larger 3840 x 2160 display, would you keep Reason at 100% zoom? Please don't take my comments in the wrong manner - I think you all did a wonderful job with Portatron and the GUI/UX is just gorgeous! I was just surprised that it didn't release with a proper zoom setting (or any at all!) that is independent of your DAW/OS, and truly think adding this will help a lot of people (especially those with vision impairments, of which I am one). :thumbup:

We're moving towards 8K displays in the professional space with the consumer space not far behind, and Portatron - in its current state - is like Reason pre-version 12 as far as the GUI/UX resizing goes. We need high-res graphics and the ability to zoom in on Portatron. :clap:
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
ekss
RE Developer
Posts: 479
Joined: 09 Nov 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 23 Dec 2022

EnochLight wrote:
23 Dec 2022
In your screenshot, Reason devices look comically small.
Agree, but they're totally "normal" sized - I just have a lot of extra space to view more at once :)

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 8057
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Imladris

Post 23 Dec 2022

ekss wrote:
23 Dec 2022
EnochLight wrote:
23 Dec 2022
In your screenshot, Reason devices look comically small.
Agree, but they're totally "normal" sized - I just have a lot of extra space to view more at once :)
Haha true! Just curious - what is the size of your display? Full disclosure: I haven't used a display smaller than 26" in almost 20 years (currently using 2 actually). I need to go ultrawide but plugins with Portatron's GUI/UX limitations have me stuck. The 49" wide Samsung Neo G9 is calling me at 5120x1440 like the sirens called to Odysseus.
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
arnigretar
Posts: 359
Joined: 15 May 2020
Location: Iceland

Post 23 Dec 2022

Looks good. Like the Yamaha MT4X :) Is based on that old device?
https://futuregrapher.bandcamp.com/

Reason 11 Suite, Ableton Live 10 Suite, Roland Cloud, Arturia V9, Korg Legacy 3, Soundtoys 5, Waves Mercury, Sonic Charge Bundle, N.I.: Massive, Reaktor 6, FM8. + a lot of Hardware. Windows 7/10.

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 8057
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Imladris

Post 23 Dec 2022

arnigretar wrote:
23 Dec 2022
Looks good. Like the Yamaha MT4X :) Is based on that old device?
That MT4X was awesome. I'd wager Portatron took some influence from many machines like these from back in the day...


MTX4.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
moneykube
Posts: 3241
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 23 Dec 2022

I still have a functioning tascam 244 with all the wows, flutters, and speed variations an old machine has.
Screen Shot 2022-12-23 at 4.43.31 PM.png
Many years ago, when the speed variations began> I took it into the music store I bought it from.
It was taken apart. They took pictures of the belt and pulley mechanism that was in the 4 track that I had purchased new at that music store many years prior....We wanted? needed the replacement belt to get it working like it did... so we contacted Tascam, who maintained there was never a belt in this model, even though the proof was in front of their eyes :shock: After , to save all my work, I saved loads of songs to digital format, and have used some of the recordings , manipulated and cleaned up a tad, in many of my later tunes. I created 100's of hours of material on this machine over the years (in the before times and the long ago). :puf_wink:
Wow>CRAZY :exclamation: !!!! I just checked... These prices on eBay are unbelievably high in my opinion...
Maybe it's making a retro come back of sorts :?: :clap:
https://www.ebay.ca/sch/i.html?_nkw=tas ... dcat=15199
Lol... anyone know where I can purchase a belt???
EDIT> As we knew, Tascam lied... I think I may have found some... HMMMMMMMMMMM
https://www.ebay.ca/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... _PrefLoc=2
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
https://soundcloud.com/moneykube-qube/s ... d-playlist
Proud Member Of The Awesome League Of Perpetuals Minus - AKA > "The Oppressed" :shock:

User avatar
arnigretar
Posts: 359
Joined: 15 May 2020
Location: Iceland

Post 24 Dec 2022

Oh yes! And good looking Tascam that is!!
https://futuregrapher.bandcamp.com/

Reason 11 Suite, Ableton Live 10 Suite, Roland Cloud, Arturia V9, Korg Legacy 3, Soundtoys 5, Waves Mercury, Sonic Charge Bundle, N.I.: Massive, Reaktor 6, FM8. + a lot of Hardware. Windows 7/10.

User avatar
moneykube
Posts: 3241
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 24 Dec 2022

arnigretar wrote:
24 Dec 2022
Oh yes! And good looking Tascam that is!!
thanks... I got many, many years of use out of it... so... I ordered the belts I found on eBay, and they are now on the way. WOOHOO
I am looking forward to going back in time, and possible transferring the rest of the songs that were recorded with it from 3 bands I played in, and some solo stuff ... a few more hundreds of hours of recordings. I am excited. I am glad I stored it away from dust. The speed variations were driving me nuts, as that is difficult problem to fix ( not impossible but not perfect either) When you know how it should sound and no longer does, it is kind of depressing... so I only transferred the ones that were more fixable than others, back when it got retired.
https://soundcloud.com/moneykube-qube/s ... d-playlist
Proud Member Of The Awesome League Of Perpetuals Minus - AKA > "The Oppressed" :shock:

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 8057
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Imladris

Post 30 Dec 2022

buddard wrote:
22 Dec 2022
Thanks for all the nice words about Portatron by the way!

We have some really cool updates planned further ahead. :thumbup:
Any time frame on when they might be introduced? :thumbup:
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

Yonatan
Posts: 1554
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 31 Dec 2022

EnochLight wrote:
23 Dec 2022
arnigretar wrote:
23 Dec 2022
Looks good. Like the Yamaha MT4X :) Is based on that old device?
That MT4X was awesome. I'd wager Portatron took some influence from many machines like these from back in the day...



MTX4.jpg
Oh, I still has one of these but the 8 track version. Times they are a changing.

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 8597
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 31 Dec 2022

Still got my Yamaha MT120.
丰2ॐ

User avatar
crimsonwarlock
Posts: 1245
Joined: 06 Nov 2021
Location: Close to the Edge

Post 31 Dec 2022

Tascam 488 here, in pristine condition. Not connected to anything, though.
----
Most users think the reason their requests aren't being met, is because some developer somewhere in a cubical refuses to waive its magic wand.

User avatar
challism
Moderator
Posts: 4138
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Fanboy Shill

Post 04 Jan 2023

Do I understand correctly that the tape selection is only for aesthetic purposes and actually serves no audible difference?
18.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Players are to MIDI what synthesizers are to waveforms.

ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

Steedus
Posts: 878
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Melbourne, AU

Post 04 Jan 2023

challism wrote:
04 Jan 2023
Do I understand correctly that the tape selection is only for aesthetic purposes and actually serves no audible difference?

18.jpg
In that sense, yeah it’s just atheistic. But the Normal / Chrome switch emulates different tape types.

This is a pretty interesting plugin but I couldn’t work out how to use it in the way I make music so had to let it go.

User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 1144
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 04 Jan 2023

challism wrote:
04 Jan 2023
Do I understand correctly that the tape selection is only for aesthetic purposes and actually serves no audible difference?
That is correct, it's only for cosmetics. We have a separate Normal/Chrome selector that changes the characteristics of the sound.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 3 guests