VCV Rack 2 - released

Discuss VST stuff here!
User avatar
Faastwalker
Posts: 2053
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 30 Nov 2021

https://vcvrack.com/news/2021-11-30-Rack-2-released

Free for standalone! Currently $99 for Pro / VST version.


ravasb
Posts: 138
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 30 Nov 2021

Brilliant app. I have been using it for a few years. Instant buy.

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 2739
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 30 Nov 2021

Right click > favorites
Tags.
After only 2 versions.
757365206c6f67696320746f207365656b20616e73776572732075736520726561736f6e20746f2066696e6420776973646f6d

ravasb
Posts: 138
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 30 Nov 2021

bxbrkrz wrote:
30 Nov 2021
Right click > favorites
Tags.
After only 2 versions.
It is a free program with thousands of free modules and incredible modulation and creative possibilities. I did not love how they organized it either, but it is an amazing project.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9635
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 30 Nov 2021

Excellent.

Does it have a container? Something like Combinator2?
Reason12, Win10

ravasb
Posts: 138
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 30 Nov 2021

Loque wrote:
30 Nov 2021
Excellent.

Does it have a container? Something like Combinator2?
Not really. It is based on the Eurorack. A paid VST version came out today and you could probably put it in a combinator.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9635
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 30 Nov 2021

ravasb wrote:
30 Nov 2021
Loque wrote:
30 Nov 2021
Excellent.

Does it have a container? Something like Combinator2?
Not really. It is based on the Eurorack. A paid VST version came out today and you could probably put it in a combinator.
I hope they add something like the Combi2. VCV can quickly become very complicated and it would be nice to hide parts of it. Shouldn't be too difficult since they have templates now.
Reason12, Win10

ravasb
Posts: 138
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 30 Nov 2021

Loque wrote:
30 Nov 2021
ravasb wrote:
30 Nov 2021


Not really. It is based on the Eurorack. A paid VST version came out today and you could probably put it in a combinator.
I hope they add something like the Combi2. VCV can quickly become very complicated and it would be nice to hide parts of it. Shouldn't be too difficult since they have templates now.

That would be very helpful. They really just have spacers to put between sections.

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 1406
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 01 Dec 2021

I still think they need to offer a free version of the VST, even if it is limited in some way. They need to hook people in and grow their ecosystem if they are going to thrive.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9635
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 01 Dec 2021

DaveyG wrote:
01 Dec 2021
I still think they need to offer a free version of the VST, even if it is limited in some way. They need to hook people in and grow their ecosystem if they are going to thrive.
Yea, its a bit expensive. The VST is probably the most interesting part. If there would be a small free version, it could open up a lot of potential for Combi2 "devices".

On the other hand, they spent a lot of development time for this and it should pay off at some point. But still...99 bucks just to have the VST? Hum....i need to think about that for a while...
Reason12, Win10

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 2739
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 01 Dec 2021

ravasb wrote:
30 Nov 2021
bxbrkrz wrote:
30 Nov 2021
Right click > favorites
Tags.
After only 2 versions.
It is a free program with thousands of free modules and incredible modulation and creative possibilities. I did not love how they organized it either, but it is an amazing project.
These options arrived after only 2 versions, compared to our all time favorite DAW with those options still missing. VCV Rack is an amazing project, and I love everything about it
Sorry for the confusion :puf_smile: :thumbs_up:

757365206c6f67696320746f207365656b20616e73776572732075736520726561736f6e20746f2066696e6420776973646f6d

ravasb
Posts: 138
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 01 Dec 2021

Sorry for not figuring that out the first time! :thumbup:

bxbrkrz wrote:
01 Dec 2021
ravasb wrote:
30 Nov 2021


It is a free program with thousands of free modules and incredible modulation and creative possibilities. I did not love how they organized it either, but it is an amazing project.
These options arrived after only 2 versions, compared to our all time favorite DAW with those options still missing. VCV Rack is an amazing project, and I love everything about it
Sorry for the confusion]

User avatar
crimsonwarlock
Posts: 146
Joined: 06 Nov 2021
Location: Close to the Edge

Post 01 Dec 2021

If you don't mind NOT to have all the available modules (but still a whole lot) then you can get the free VeeSeeVST rack, which is a VST 2.4 compatible version of VCV rack version one.

https://github.com/bsp2/VeeSeeVSTRack

User avatar
Eurikon
Posts: 50
Joined: 07 May 2016
Location: Earth

Post 01 Dec 2021

Loque wrote:
01 Dec 2021
DaveyG wrote:
01 Dec 2021
I still think they need to offer a free version of the VST, even if it is limited in some way. They need to hook people in and grow their ecosystem if they are going to thrive.
Yea, its a bit expensive. The VST is probably the most interesting part. If there would be a small free version, it could open up a lot of potential for Combi2 "devices".

On the other hand, they spent a lot of development time for this and it should pay off at some point. But still...99 bucks just to have the VST? Hum....i need to think about that for a while...
What you are actually getting for 99$ is nearly 30K worth compared to Eurorack hardware, to use inside a DAW - that is a nobrainer.
Just the: Bogaudio , Impromptu, MindMeld, Countmodula, Geodesics, Audible Instruments, Nysthi, Vult Free, Submarine - module packs, will enable you to create for a life time. And these are free...
Then there are paid and free modules from well established brands, Befaco, Instruo, Erica. And more..!

Seriously , just get it! :D

Now all Reason Studios has to do, is get their act together, and get us full midi out for VST's , updating Reason 10 & 11 as well with this. :P
So i can marry Reason with VCV to full perfection!

Here are 2 patches i recently did, while testing the beta modules for certain developers.



Last edited by Eurikon on 04 Dec 2021, edited 1 time in total.
★ --------------------------------------- ★
https://www.youtube.com/c/Eurikon
https://eurikon.bandcamp.com
https://instagram.com/eurikon_music
★ --------------------------------------- ★

User avatar
huggermugger
Posts: 360
Joined: 16 Jul 2021

Post 01 Dec 2021

Loque wrote:
01 Dec 2021

Yea, its a bit expensive. The VST is probably the most interesting part. If there would be a small free version, it could open up a lot of potential for Combi2 "devices".

On the other hand, they spent a lot of development time for this and it should pay off at some point. But still...99 bucks just to have the VST? Hum....i need to think about that for a while...
A massive Eurorack-based modular with hundreds of free modules and a VST option for $99, and you're complaining?

chaosroyale
Posts: 722
Joined: 05 Sep 2017

Post 02 Dec 2021

huggermugger wrote:
01 Dec 2021
Loque wrote:
01 Dec 2021

Yea, its a bit expensive.
A massive Eurorack-based modular with hundreds of free modules and a VST option for $99, and you're complaining?
Yeah that is absolutely nuts. 99 bucks for a true modular rack with hundreds of free modules? Just unbelievably powerful and cheap. Add 30 bucks for the VST host module and you can have VITAL in your modular rack for just 130 bucks!!!!

User avatar
Stygian Abyss
Posts: 79
Joined: 17 Jun 2019

Post 04 Dec 2021

I just updated to version 2.0.1 and had a crash of the FX version of VCV Rack Pro when Reason scanned plugins (Windows 10, Reason 11). 2.0.0 worked correctly. Did someone else encounter this issue ?

rorystorm
Posts: 251
Joined: 06 Jul 2019

Post 04 Dec 2021

Stygian Abyss wrote:
04 Dec 2021
I just updated to version 2.0.1 and had a crash of the FX version of VCV Rack Pro when Reason scanned plugins (Windows 10, Reason 11). 2.0.0 worked correctly. Did someone else encounter this issue ?
Same thing here. Reinstalled vcv and seems to working now but I'm not happy about it.

User avatar
zero01101
Posts: 38
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 05 Dec 2021

so two things:
a - uhh do not try to update VCV's plugins from within reason, i sure got two complete CTDs trying that silliness; event viewer suggests it's conked out nvidia's openGL driver???

Code: Select all

Faulting application name: Reason.exe, version: 12.2.2.8259, time stamp: 0x61853237
Faulting module name: nvoglv64.dll, version: 30.0.14.7111, time stamp: 0x60d01070
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000121b185
Faulting process id: 0x600
b - is anyone else getting very weirdly low FPS within rack VST? hosted in reason, i'm only able to achieve 12-15 FPS, but in renoise i'm getting 30+, live 11 will run up to 72fps since i limited it in standalone, and actually running it standalone it'll refresh at the full 144hz if i let it... computer's not the NEWEST but it's no slouch, ryzen 7 2700x, 32gb DDR4 at 3200mhz, RTX 2070...

enossified
Posts: 113
Joined: 15 Aug 2016

Post 05 Dec 2021

I gave up on VCV Rack waiting for v2 and moved over to Cherry Audio's Voltage Modular almost two years ago. It has macro controls, BTW.

User avatar
huggermugger
Posts: 360
Joined: 16 Jul 2021

Post 06 Dec 2021

enossified wrote:
05 Dec 2021
I gave up on VCV Rack waiting for v2 and moved over to Cherry Audio's Voltage Modular almost two years ago. It has macro controls, BTW.
Voltage Modular also has a more consistent UI, Patch Variations, and Cabinets,

User avatar
BumCuddle
Posts: 110
Joined: 26 Jul 2021

Post 08 Dec 2021

Here is a tutorial if you are thinking of picking it up and having a play..


User avatar
Re8et
Posts: 1055
Joined: 14 Nov 2016

Post 08 Dec 2021

Eurikon wrote:
01 Dec 2021
Loque wrote:
01 Dec 2021


Yea, its a bit expensive. The VST is probably the most interesting part. If there would be a small free version, it could open up a lot of potential for Combi2 "devices".

On the other hand, they spent a lot of development time for this and it should pay off at some point. But still...99 bucks just to have the VST? Hum....i need to think about that for a while...
What you are actually getting for 99$ is nearly 30K worth compared to Eurorack hardware, to use inside a DAW - that is a nobrainer.
Just the: Bogaudio , Impromptu, MindMeld, Countmodula, Geodesics, Audible Instruments, Nysthi, Vult Free, Submarine - module packs, will enable you to create for a life time. And these are free...
Then there are paid and free modules from well established brands, Befaco, Instruo, Erica. And more..!

Seriously , just get it! :D

Now all Reason Studios has to do, is get their act together, and get us full midi out for VST's , updating Reason 10 & 11 as well with this. :P
So i can marry Reason with VCV to full perfection!

Here are 2 patches i recently did, while testing the beta modules for certain developers.


I Just downloaded the Free version and installed bridge.
HOw does bridge works exactly?
Does it support Polyphony? Does it has a GUI?

I see you posted lots of videos of VCV and Reason, but can't figure it out.
I played a bit whilst on the VCV 1.1 versions and Reason 10 plus bridge, but
don't remember how was the actual bridge integration and IF CV-interoperation was seamless.
Could you help us understand what the paid version does for us Reasoners???

Sylent way is a paid module by Exper Sleeper am I wrong??
That is for clock syncronization so what does Bridge exactly other than audio??
It has been integrated in the Paid version and differs from 0.6.2c version??



Here you make use again of Exper sleepers paid VSt's and Ultralite Matrix...
Nice but is doesn't helps out understands the default features one could get
with the 99 bucks full package... and version is the old one also, not 2.0...

User avatar
Re8et
Posts: 1055
Joined: 14 Nov 2016

Post 08 Dec 2021

VCV forum Reason thread:
It is still possible to use an external midi re-routing to control VCV rack on
standalone.
I'm trying to know if it could be possible to integrate better the VST (paid) version with Reason
So we do not need to resort to external re-routing or audio-cv conversions
but have a straight Reason Midi-out module to VCV RT connection...

https://community.vcvrack.com/t/vcv-rac ... e/12375/10

User avatar
Eurikon
Posts: 50
Joined: 07 May 2016
Location: Earth

Post 08 Dec 2021

Hi Re8et, seems we are having a conversation across a universe of forum boards ;)

As by now you got up to speed, with know abouts of VCV 2.
i might do some new videos in the coming weeks with tips on how to do stuff between Reason and VCV 2 standalone.

However i might be using the paid Expert Sleepers plugin suite and RME loopback function for that (virtual audio routing).

So then again it is not universally applicable ;)

Some things to keep in mind:
  • Neither of the methods above or what i just wrote above here should be compared to VCV Rack as a vst inside Reason.
    That is a story on it's own (most of it is simple midi from Reason to VCV vst, i only use clock pulse input for rock solid sync).

    Bridge is not supported in VCV 2, above methods with bridge used only apply for v1

    Birdge has no UI, bridge is sort of like Reason Rewire, and can transport audio & CV.

    But from v2 and up, bridge can be forgotten!
★ --------------------------------------- ★
https://www.youtube.com/c/Eurikon
https://eurikon.bandcamp.com
https://instagram.com/eurikon_music
★ --------------------------------------- ★

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest