Any Overbridge users?

Discuss VST stuff here!
tallguy

01 Feb 2021

Anybody use Elektron Overbridge in Reason with a Rhythm MKII?

I'm curious about the integration of the Analog Rytm MKII in Reason. More specifically about bringing audio into Reason over USB.

stillifegaijin

01 Feb 2021

I have used it in a couple session with artists who use the Digitakt. It works for sure.The best method for me seemed to be to use an aggregate I/O device setup that gave me access to my regular interface as well at the USB inputs from the Digitakt.

I'm not an expert though.

tallguy

01 Feb 2021

Ok, I’m thinking of getting a Rytm. But I don’t have enough inputs on my audio interface for another device.
1. Am I right in saying that I can import audio directly in Reason using Overbridge? Bypassing my normal audio interface altogether?
2. If so, what about latency?

stillifegaijin

02 Feb 2021

Yes, you can use Overbridge to send audio via USB directly into Reason without your regular audio device. Latency should not be anymore of an issue than with a regular interface. I was recording live sessions with audio coming in via USB from a Digitakt along with simultaneous audio from hardware synths through my pre-amps and 002 Rack interface, as well as a vocalist. It worked fine.

I use a 002 Rack as my main studio interface so to be able to use the 002 and Overbridge together I went into the Audio/Midi setup and created an Aggregate Device that included the inputs from both the 002 and Overbridge and the outputs of the 002 to get audio out to my monitors and headphone setup. - This is all on Mac. I have no idea if this same setup works with a PC.

If you just wanted to use the Rytm without your regular interface at all you could setup an Aggregate Device that included the inputs of Overbridge with your standard headphone out from you computer as well. I do this to use a USB mic to record talking for a radio show while listening on headphones from the laptop headphone out.