Reveal Sound Spire update to 1.5

Discuss VST stuff here!
User avatar
Despondo
Posts: 681
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Post 07 Aug 2020

Reveal Sound Spire updated to 1.5.

New features:

+ Added Preset Manager * Fix for FL Studio (DirectWave rendering) * Some minor fixes

Video:

User avatar
miscend
Posts: 1699
Joined: 09 Feb 2015

Post 07 Aug 2020

That's a great update. Probably the best browser I've seen.

User avatar
Billy
Posts: 802
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 07 Aug 2020

That's looking nice, bit of a jump from 1.1.17 to 1.5.0 and it does come with a warning for current users to backup projects. But I have to say that's probably my only issue with spire "the browser" was a bit awkward.

I do find it strange that it's listed as a Catalina install, but I'm guessing it's going to work on my El Capitan OS

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8345
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 07 Aug 2020

Incredible how much effort every VST dev needs to waste for a preset browser...
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 1545
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 07 Aug 2020

As soon as I see a good sale on this, it's my next purchase.
https://soundcloud.com/hurricane-music | https://soundcloud.com/hurricaneaudiolab
Mac mini | Logic Pro X | Reason 10.4 | DX7 | DX7s | TX7 | CZ-1 | JP-8080 | Virus Classic | Roland XP-80/XP-30/RD-700/D2/TR-09 | microKorg I 03R/W | SL990 PRO

User avatar
Despondo
Posts: 681
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Post 07 Aug 2020

Billy wrote:
07 Aug 2020
I do find it strange that it's listed as a Catalina install, but I'm guessing it's going to work on my El Capitan OS
There are non-Catalina versions below the Catalina ones:

User avatar
Billy
Posts: 802
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 07 Aug 2020

Despondo wrote:
07 Aug 2020
Billy wrote:
07 Aug 2020
I do find it strange that it's listed as a Catalina install, but I'm guessing it's going to work on my El Capitan OS
There are non-Catalina versions below the Catalina ones:
Thanks for the info, for some strange reason we I viewed the page it didn't show the other downloads, but I got it now

User avatar
qn5
Posts: 132
Joined: 29 Nov 2016
Location: NYC

Post 08 Aug 2020

Anyone else getting an error with this update?

QN5 MUSIC
qn5.com

User avatar
Billy
Posts: 802
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 09 Aug 2020

qn5 wrote:
08 Aug 2020
Anyone else getting an error with this update?

Haven't done the update yet, but did the scan work as expected?

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 6547
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 09 Aug 2020

Loque wrote:
07 Aug 2020
Incredible how much effort every VST dev needs to waste for a preset browser...
Indeed! And here we are 20 years after Reason's release and we still don't have tags, or anything even remotely close to what Reveal Sound just released for free. :o :shock: :? :lol:
Win 10 | Reason 11 Suite |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Korg Minilogue XD | Roland MX-1

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8345
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 09 Aug 2020

EnochLight wrote:
09 Aug 2020
Loque wrote:
07 Aug 2020
Incredible how much effort every VST dev needs to waste for a preset browser...
Indeed! And here we are 20 years after Reason's release and we still don't have tags, or anything even remotely close to what Reveal Sound just released for free. :o :shock: :? :lol:
Yea, and still 90% of my VSTs dont have it and Reveal only needed 10 or 20 years to do it? The world is so unfair...
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 6547
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 09 Aug 2020

Loque wrote:
09 Aug 2020
Yea, and still 90% of my VSTs dont have it and Reveal only needed 10 or 20 years to do it? The world is so unfair...
7 years (their 0.1 "beta" of Spire came out in early 2013; it was 1.0 by the end of 2013). First world problems! :puf_bigsmile: :lol:
Win 10 | Reason 11 Suite |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Korg Minilogue XD | Roland MX-1

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8345
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 09 Aug 2020

EnochLight wrote:
09 Aug 2020
Loque wrote:
09 Aug 2020
Yea, and still 90% of my VSTs dont have it and Reveal only needed 10 or 20 years to do it? The world is so unfair...
7 years (their 0.1 "beta" of Spire came out in early 2013; it was 1.0 by the end of 2013). First world problems! :puf_bigsmile: :lol:
Oh, if they only took 7 years to implement a file browser...thats a totally different thing than.

*Clap*, *Clap*, Reveal! Well done! :lol: :thumbs_up:

Only 90% of my other VSTs need to do it!

Oh...snap! It works only within one VSTs so i cannot search for a "tag" within all my patches!? Maybe in 20 years we will have this. Looking forward to it :-) :thumbs_up:
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 6547
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 09 Aug 2020

:lol: :lol: :lol:
Win 10 | Reason 11 Suite |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Korg Minilogue XD | Roland MX-1

User avatar
qn5
Posts: 132
Joined: 29 Nov 2016
Location: NYC

Post 09 Aug 2020

Billy wrote:
09 Aug 2020
qn5 wrote:
08 Aug 2020
Anyone else getting an error with this update?

Haven't done the update yet, but did the scan work as expected?
No, if you have a large preset library, it will time out while "reindexing" and leave a few emptyy entries in the "authors" list.
My workaround for this was to add libraries in small groups at a time and re-scan incrementally.
It refuses to do it in one shot. Takes forever.
QN5 MUSIC
qn5.com

User avatar
Billy
Posts: 802
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 24 Nov 2020

Finally did my update today and everything worked a treat, so if you was holding off until the bugs settled down it was all good for me today.

dezma
Posts: 242
Joined: 02 Jun 2015

Post 26 Nov 2020

Anyone knows how to deal with the versions? Is there any way to delete the 1.1 installation without breaking old projects?

Image

User avatar
Billy
Posts: 802
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 26 Nov 2020

dezma wrote:
26 Nov 2020
Anyone knows how to deal with the versions? Is there any way to delete the 1.1 installation without breaking old projects?

Image
I just did the standard install and it left me with the latest 1.5 version.

I'm on Mac and haven't checked the vst folder but Reason only list the 1.5, did you rescan the plugins to see if it's gone and not updated. What DAW is in the screenshot?

dezma
Posts: 242
Joined: 02 Jun 2015

Post 26 Nov 2020

I'm on Studio one 4

I can see the separate dll files in de vstplugins folder

Image

User avatar
Billy
Posts: 802
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 26 Nov 2020

Well there shouldn't be any reason that uninstalling the old version would cause a problem, you might have to replace the vst in old projects but I wouldn't know tbh and I'm sure that it won't matter if you keep it installed or you could uninstall it and see if you have a issue.

Is there a separate uninstall listed?

JohnsonG
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Feb 2020

Post 10 Jan 2021

Can anyone help me out, I just updated to the 1.5 Spire, with a direct link from them, ad I keep hearing this white noise every so often, like water washing up on a beach.

I uninstalled and re installed and no luck, I still hear the noise.

Any help while I wait for a reply from them please?

User avatar
SynthRatings
Posts: 33
Joined: 06 Sep 2018

Post 10 Jan 2021

JohnsonG wrote:
10 Jan 2021
Can anyone help me out, I just updated to the 1.5 Spire, with a direct link from them, ad I keep hearing this white noise every so often, like water washing up on a beach.

I uninstalled and re installed and no luck, I still hear the noise.

Any help while I wait for a reply from them please?
Isn't that a limitation with the demo version? Try relicensing it somehow.
I publish ratings of VST and RE instruments on a dedicated YouTube channel here:
https://www.youtube.com/c/SynthRatings

User avatar
Billy
Posts: 802
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 11 Jan 2021

JohnsonG wrote:
10 Jan 2021
Can anyone help me out, I just updated to the 1.5 Spire, with a direct link from them, ad I keep hearing this white noise every so often, like water washing up on a beach.

I uninstalled and re installed and no luck, I still hear the noise.

Any help while I wait for a reply from them please?
You need to re download your license file from your account.
SynthRatings wrote:
10 Jan 2021
Isn't that a limitation with the demo version? Try relicensing it somehow.
That is exactly correct however I've never had to relicense my install.

JohnsonG
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Feb 2020

Post 13 Jan 2021

That's what they told me but I don't recall getting a license from them when I got it. I am in a back and forth with them now anyway, but thanks everyone. And yes the white noise is a limitation on their demo version. I don't really like the new browser either but hey.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest