Reason 11 - only VST2.4? Not VST3?

Discuss VST stuff here!
User avatar
miyaru
Posts: 39
Joined: 28 Oct 2019
Location: Zaanstad, The Netherlands

Post 31 Oct 2019

Hello, I think Reason 11 does not recognize VST3 FX plugins, is this correct? Strange as you use the racks in say Ableton Live it is a VST3......... Am I correct, then I know what to do when I want to use VST's in Reason 11.

Thanx in advance!!!!
Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Reason Suite 11, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 6123
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 31 Oct 2019

No VST3 support in Reason yet.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
miyaru
Posts: 39
Joined: 28 Oct 2019
Location: Zaanstad, The Netherlands

Post 31 Oct 2019

Thanx!!!! :mrgreen:
Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Reason Suite 11, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

User avatar
Oquasec
Posts: 2520
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Post 31 Oct 2019

nope. only minihost
Producer/Sound Designer.

xboix
Posts: 80
Joined: 22 Oct 2019

Post 31 Oct 2019

miyaru wrote:
31 Oct 2019
Hello, I think Reason 11 does not recognize VST3 FX plugins, is this correct? Strange as you use the racks in say Ableton Live it is a VST3......... Am I correct, then I know what to do when I want to use VST's in Reason 11.

Thanx in advance!!!!
Yes it is ridiculous.
Reason 11 standalone supports only VST2.
Reason 11 rack is only available as VST3.

Blue Cat's PatchWork will allow you to host VST3 in Reason but it is not cheap.

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 6123
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 31 Oct 2019

xboix wrote:
31 Oct 2019
miyaru wrote:
31 Oct 2019
Hello, I think Reason 11 does not recognize VST3 FX plugins, is this correct? Strange as you use the racks in say Ableton Live it is a VST3......... Am I correct, then I know what to do when I want to use VST's in Reason 11.

Thanx in advance!!!!
Yes it is ridiculous.
Reason 11 standalone supports only VST2.
Reason 11 rack is only available as VST3.

Blue Cat's PatchWork will allow you to host VST3 in Reason but it is not cheap.
Maybe you guys should become aware, that supporting VST3 means supporting VST2.4 AND VST3, which are two different interfaces and double of the problems. It is easier to provide a plugin in VST3 only instead of a app supporting two interface through out the whole app...So keep calm guys...it will come...and i am in no hurry...
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

xboix
Posts: 80
Joined: 22 Oct 2019

Post 31 Oct 2019

Loque wrote:
31 Oct 2019


Maybe you guys should become aware, that supporting VST3 means supporting VST2.4 AND VST3, which are two different interfaces and double of the problems. It is easier to provide a plugin in VST3 only instead of a app supporting two interface through out the whole app...So keep calm guys...it will come...and i am in no hurry...
I'm well aware of that thank you. Maybe you should become aware that VST2 has been deprecated for some years time and new developers are subject to Steinberg's licensing rules that say they can only release VST3 plugins. So Reason Rack could not be released as VST2. It also means that every day/week/month new plugins will be launched by other companies that are not currently supported by Reason. As usual Reason is behind the curve and will, as a consequence, will annoy some of their valuable customers.

User avatar
diminished
Posts: 1431
Joined: 15 Dec 2018

Post 31 Oct 2019

gotta ask. boingy?
:reason: Most recent track: The Test (feat. MrFigg) || Others: on my YouTube channel •ᴗ•

User avatar
Dogcat
Posts: 8
Joined: 21 Sep 2019

Post 31 Oct 2019

xboix wrote:
31 Oct 2019

I'm well aware of that thank you. Maybe you should become aware that VST2 has been deprecated for some years time and new developers are subject to Steinberg's licensing rules that say they can only release VST3 plugins. So Reason Rack could not be released as VST2. It also means that every day/week/month new plugins will be launched by other companies that are not currently supported by Reason. As usual Reason is behind the curve and will, as a consequence, will annoy some of their valuable customers.
Lots of new plugins are still released in the VST 2.4 format. Take a look at Izotope, Arturia, Waves... all releasing v.2.4 plugins very recently.
=============
New EP "Ukrainian Architecture" | https://youtu.be/uTvwrAkto48

xboix
Posts: 80
Joined: 22 Oct 2019

Post 31 Oct 2019

Dogcat wrote:
31 Oct 2019
xboix wrote:
31 Oct 2019

I'm well aware of that thank you. Maybe you should become aware that VST2 has been deprecated for some years time and new developers are subject to Steinberg's licensing rules that say they can only release VST3 plugins. So Reason Rack could not be released as VST2. It also means that every day/week/month new plugins will be launched by other companies that are not currently supported by Reason. As usual Reason is behind the curve and will, as a consequence, will annoy some of their valuable customers.
Lots of new plugins are still released in the VST 2.4 format. Take a look at Izotope, Arturia, Waves... all releasing v.2.4 plugins very recently.
That's correct. The Steinberg license allows existing plugins to continue as VST2 but plans to "end of life" VST2 was announced in 2013 with all SDK support being removed in 2018. If you are a new VST developer you have no option to produce VST2s.VST2 will eventually go the way of 32-bit plugins and black and white TV. That's progress, as they say.

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 6123
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 31 Oct 2019

xboix wrote:
31 Oct 2019
Loque wrote:
31 Oct 2019


Maybe you guys should become aware, that supporting VST3 means supporting VST2.4 AND VST3, which are two different interfaces and double of the problems. It is easier to provide a plugin in VST3 only instead of a app supporting two interface through out the whole app...So keep calm guys...it will come...and i am in no hurry...
I'm well aware of that thank you. Maybe you should become aware that VST2 has been deprecated for some years time and new developers are subject to Steinberg's licensing rules that say they can only release VST3 plugins. So Reason Rack could not be released as VST2. It also means that every day/week/month new plugins will be launched by other companies that are not currently supported by Reason. As usual Reason is behind the curve and will, as a consequence, will annoy some of their valuable customers.
I am aware of that, thank you. I sm not in a hurry for VST3.
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
Oquasec
Posts: 2520
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Post 31 Oct 2019

If it's one thing I know, it's that it's not gonna ever have all the features of something else.
It's just never gonna be something else.
It will always be Reason. Not something else.
Producer/Sound Designer.

zoidkirb
Posts: 181
Joined: 18 Nov 2018

Post 31 Oct 2019

diminished wrote:
31 Oct 2019
gotta ask. boingy?
Sometimes I get the feeling these forums are infiltrated by smurfs too! :puf_wink:

jlgrimes
Posts: 366
Joined: 06 Jun 2017

Post 31 Oct 2019

xboix wrote:
31 Oct 2019
Dogcat wrote:
31 Oct 2019


Lots of new plugins are still released in the VST 2.4 format. Take a look at Izotope, Arturia, Waves... all releasing v.2.4 plugins very recently.
That's correct. The Steinberg license allows existing plugins to continue as VST2 but plans to "end of life" VST2 was announced in 2013 with all SDK support being removed in 2018. If you are a new VST developer you have no option to produce VST2s.VST2 will eventually go the way of 32-bit plugins and black and white TV. That's progress, as they say.
That said VST 2.4 is a well known standard, it probably wont die off until new OSs evolve which could be some time.

zoidkirb
Posts: 181
Joined: 18 Nov 2018

Post 31 Oct 2019

I did a quick Google search for what vst3 only vst's come up. Lo and behold I found this:

viewtopic.php?t=7508745

I do kinda wonder if there will be a spike in vst3 only plugins or is Steinberg really trying to force something that most of the industry don't care for.

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 1433
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 31 Oct 2019

Loque wrote:
31 Oct 2019
xboix wrote:
31 Oct 2019


I'm well aware of that thank you. Maybe you should become aware that VST2 has been deprecated for some years time and new developers are subject to Steinberg's licensing rules that say they can only release VST3 plugins. So Reason Rack could not be released as VST2. It also means that every day/week/month new plugins will be launched by other companies that are not currently supported by Reason. As usual Reason is behind the curve and will, as a consequence, will annoy some of their valuable customers.
I am aware of that, thank you. I sm not in a hurry for VST3.
good for you. it’s still a desirable feature for lots of us though.

User avatar
ShelLuser
Posts: 203
Joined: 25 Aug 2019

Post 31 Oct 2019

I can't help think that VST3 is overhyped anyway. The main reason I stick to 2 for now is because if I enable 3 in Live I have to expand either VST2 or VST3 subfolder before I can get to my plugins, seriously annoying. And since I have quite a few VST2's I'm sticking to that for now.
--- :reason:
Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

zoidkirb
Posts: 181
Joined: 18 Nov 2018

Post 31 Oct 2019

ShelLuser wrote:
31 Oct 2019
I can't help think that VST3 is overhyped anyway. The main reason I stick to 2 for now is because if I enable 3 in Live I have to expand either VST2 or VST3 subfolder before I can get to my plugins, seriously annoying. And since I have quite a few VST2's I'm sticking to that for now.
Yeah kinda weird how Live wants to segregate 2.4 and 3 like that. Doesn't affect me though as I access all of my plugs via the favourites section anyway.

xboix
Posts: 80
Joined: 22 Oct 2019

Post 01 Nov 2019

jlgrimes wrote:
31 Oct 2019

That said VST 2.4 is a well known standard, it probably wont die off until new OSs evolve which could be some time.
I absolutely agree. VST2 will be with us for a long time but new plugins will increasingly be available only as VST3. So Reason needs to support VST3 in addition to VST2.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 3 guests