sus pedal with VST

Discuss VST stuff here!
Dilly123

22 Feb 2019

Hi guys,

I'm having a problem with my sustain pedal when recording. I am using neo soul keys as a VST and it plays fine however, when I record, the sustain pedal gets a bit funky. For example, when I lift the pedal, it cuts off the sustain of notes that I was holding on the keyboard. It is recording sustain pedal data, but something is off. Its totally unplayable like this.

Also important to note: I am completely new to reason and DAWs in general, so if you have a solution, you may have to dumb it waaaay down for me :puf_smile:

NekujaK

22 Feb 2019

I reported a similar issue a few days ago: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7511075

One of the responses in that thread mentioned there's a problem with sustain pedals and the Radical Keys RE, which I did encounter, but I was also having problems with a VST instrument. My issue is slightly different than yours in that I could record an initial take using the sustain pedal with no problems, but on subsequent takes it went haywire. However, I can't reproduced it 100% of the time.

Unfortunately, I'm not aware of a solution.
wreaking havoc with :reason: since 2.5
:arrow: https://soundcloud.com/nekujak-donnay/sets

Dilly123

22 Feb 2019

Wow, that is a bummer. I contacted neo soul keys and they said that they were aware of a lot of similar problems with VSTs in reason, and that there was nothing wrong on their end. Also said they might stop supporting reason bc its kind of a pain. I've done a little more digging and found many others with similar sus pedal issues that have gone unsolved. I like neo soul keys more than I like reason, so if I can't get it to work, I just threw away a bunch of money :(

NekujaK

22 Feb 2019