Roland Cloud and how to (sort of) get it working with Reason

Discuss VST stuff here!
Sargie

28 Dec 2018

I got a subscription to Roland Cloud for Christmas. Unfortunately, Roland Cloud does not work with Reason, due to Reason not supporting VST3 or AU formats (should have read the Roland FAQ before asking for it ;) )

I hope Propellerhead implements VST3 or AU support in Reason as part of their current VST improvement plan... but in the meantime I needed a work around.

I don't use other DAW's, I've used Reason since version 1 came out (it was the first DAW I ever bought) and that's it. I do own a couple of other DAW's (Garageband, a restricted version of BitWig, Odessi) but I have never used them. I tried to use them as part of the solution I came up with below but found them to be complicated compared to what I was used to.

This is what I came up with and I hope it might help some others with similar issues.

This is done using a Mac.

Step One

Download Hosting AU (http://ju-x.com/hostingau.html).

This is a simple, free DAW that allows you to host various plugin format including AU3.

Step Two

Download Soundflower (https://github.com/mattingalls/Soundflo ... /tag/2.0b2).

This is a simple, free program that allows you to route audio between applications on the Mac.

Due to the security restrictions in Mojave it is a little more complex to install than I remember the last time I used it... Just make sure you follow the instructions on the webpage linked above.

Step Three

Using Audio Midi Setup (part of MacOS), create an Aggregate Device that includes your Audio Device and Soundflower (I used the 2ch version of Soundflower).

Step Four

Run Hosting AU. In the main window, load an Instrument into Track A (first box under the Track A tab), set the Master output (fourth box under the Master tab) device to be Soundflower. In the Hosting AU menu, make sure "Receive MIDI from is set to "All" (or the specific port if you know what it is).

Step Five