Roland Cloud D50 - not what I dreamed of

Discuss VST stuff here!
groggy1

02 Apr 2018

I've been eying Roland Cloud for about 6 months now - I couldn't get past the subscription model, so I never bought it.

But this weekend, I finally convinced myself that I could try it for a few months, and see how it goes - maybe get past the subscription model thing.

For the past 6 months, I've been watching reviews, and youtube videos, and it seemed like 90% of the gripes were about subscription model. The other 10% of the gripes was about the clunky UI.

Anyway, so I downloaded the 1-month free trial today. Here's my experience:
1) The UX of the Roland Cloud manager is NOT good. E.g. every time I launch it, the icons take 5 seconds to refresh, and it flickers. That in itself is not a big problem, but as my FIRST experience of the product, I was a bit scared to see a UX with small glitches. When I clicked install for D50, it went fine. But when I tried to install the 2GB 1986 anthology, it said "Installing..." for about 40 minutes - and all during that time I couldn't tell whether it was still progressing or hung! Um, this UI is not giving me confidence.

Then, I played with the D50 (the main reason I got this whole thing). When I click the "partials" button, the bottom half (keyboard) switches to show a panel of partials. But man, did it flicker! (again, in 2018 I expert a professional UX that doesn't do this). Anyway, now onto the sound...