I made a video to explain Kontakt routing within Reason. Let me know what you think!

Discuss VST stuff here!
MikeMcKew

23 Aug 2017

Link to the video is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQP6qnx-dno

I'm new to making Reason tutorials, so please let me know if you have any comments or questions that I can answer. I'm happy to help! Please feel free to subscribe if you want to see more videos in the future.

Ahornberg

23 Aug 2017

Fine work! Keep on making tutorials!
... and now I realized that there's a template folder :thumbs_up:

One thing that shocked me was the high DSP load around 6:10 in the video:
only 2 Kontakt units and 3 up to 4 bars on the DSP meter ... one more Kontakt would not be possible, I think
but that has nothing to do with the professional quality of your tutorial video.

MikeMcKew

23 Aug 2017

Ahornberg wrote:
23 Aug 2017
Fine work! Keep on making tutorials!
... and now I realized that there's a template folder :thumbs_up:

One thing that shocked me was the high DSP load around 6:10 in the video:
only 2 Kontakt units and 3 up to 4 bars on the DSP meter ... one more Kontakt would not be possible, I think
but that has nothing to do with the professional quality of your tutorial video.
Thank you, I shall continue! Glad you learned something new!

Yeah, honestly I've been having issues recently with DSP load which I haven't figured out yet. I am on a laptop, but it's still frustrating because this laptop is as powerful as a lot of desktops. Will look into it.

Thanks again!

selig
RE Developer

23 Aug 2017

I have a song with 9 Kontakt instances (plus NNXTs etc.) that runs fine on 1024 buffer @ 44.1 kHz. My 2 year old iMac doesn't fair well with the "stress test" so I know it's not some super-system by any means!
Screen Shot 2017-08-23 at 9.04.12 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-08-23 at 9.04.12 PM.png (595.33 KiB) Viewed 2247 times