VST Bundled in Other DAWs

Discuss VST stuff here!
User avatar
Karim
Posts: 921
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Italy

Post 29 Apr 2017

Hello .

I'm a Mac and Reason user as well.
Since I have not yet got the way to download the R9.5 beta I would have a couple of questions:

I own, in addition to Reason 9.2, other DAWs like Logic, Studio One and Cubase 8.5 (so to name a few)
and dozens of Vst that I rarely use ( until next month :puf_bigsmile: ) so:

1) Is Reason able to scan VSTs that are stock device of other DAWS, since they are in their default VST folder?

2) And what about the Au (Logic) plugin format. It would be considered? (The AU format has his proper folder and it has as well ".component extension")

Thanks for your attention ;)
Karim Le Mec : Dj/Producer/Label Owner ( :reason: Vers 11.3  IMac 2016 21")
FOLLOW Karim Le Mec
https://www.youtube.com/user/lemecdj
https://karimlemec.weebly.com/
https://soundcloud.com/karimlemec
https://t.me/reasonstudiosworld

Ostermilk
Posts: 1520
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 29 Apr 2017

Karim wrote:Hello .

I'm a Mac and Reason user as well.
Since I have not yet got the way to download the R9.5 beta I would have a couple of questions:

I own, in addition to Reason 9.2, other DAWs like Logic, Studio One and Cubase 8.5 (so to name a few)
and dozens of Vst that I rarely use ( until next month :puf_bigsmile: ) so:

1) Is Reason able to scan VSTs that are stock device of other DAWS, since they are in their default VST folder?

2) And what about the Au (Logic) plugin format. It would be considered? (The AU format has his proper folder and it has as well ".component extension")

Thanks for your attention ;)
As far as question 1 goes it depends on the DAW, some just bundle generic VST's which will work fine if you tell Reason where they are in Preferences, some bundle plug-ins that are tied to the DAW and can only be used in that DAW.

Quetion 2 as far as I can tell Reason 9.5 is VST 2.4 only so unless there's some kind of AU to VST wrapper available then you are out of luck there.

However if you are after a DAW style bundle of Plugins there are some cool options for very little moolah.

E.G. €20 will get you all of these cute lil' babies.

http://www.toneboosters.com/trackessentials/

User avatar
Karim
Posts: 921
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Italy

Post 29 Apr 2017

Ostermilk wrote:
Karim wrote:Hello .

I'm a Mac and Reason user as well.
Since I have not yet got the way to download the R9.5 beta I would have a couple of questions:

I own, in addition to Reason 9.2, other DAWs like Logic, Studio One and Cubase 8.5 (so to name a few)
and dozens of Vst that I rarely use ( until next month :puf_bigsmile: ) so:

1) Is Reason able to scan VSTs that are stock device of other DAWS, since they are in their default VST folder?

2) And what about the Au (Logic) plugin format. It would be considered? (The AU format has his proper folder and it has as well ".component extension")

Thanks for your attention ;)
As far as question 1 goes it depends on the DAW, some just bundle generic VST's which will work fine if you tell Reason where they are in Preferences, some bundle plug-ins that are tied to the DAW and can only be used in that DAW.

Quetion 2 as far as I can tell Reason 9.5 is VST 2.4 only so unless there's some kind of AU to VST wrapper available then you are out of luck there.

However if you are after a DAW style bundle of Plugins there are some cool options for very little moolah.

E.G. €20 will get you all of these cute lil' babies.

http://www.toneboosters.com/trackessentials/
No problem. I have both folder (Vst and Au) with same plugins but Thx for the reply.. [emoji108]

Inviato dal mio SM-G925F utilizzando Tapatalk
Karim Le Mec : Dj/Producer/Label Owner ( :reason: Vers 11.3  IMac 2016 21")
FOLLOW Karim Le Mec
https://www.youtube.com/user/lemecdj
https://karimlemec.weebly.com/
https://soundcloud.com/karimlemec
https://t.me/reasonstudiosworld

User avatar
Karim
Posts: 921
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Italy

Post 01 May 2017

Ostermilk wrote:
Karim wrote:Hello .

I'm a Mac and Reason user as well.
Since I have not yet got the way to download the R9.5 beta I would have a couple of questions:

I own, in addition to Reason 9.2, other DAWs like Logic, Studio One and Cubase 8.5 (so to name a few)
and dozens of Vst that I rarely use ( until next month :puf_bigsmile: ) so:

1) Is Reason able to scan VSTs that are stock device of other DAWS, since they are in their default VST folder?

2) And what about the Au (Logic) plugin format. It would be considered? (The AU format has his proper folder and it has as well ".component extension")

Thanks for your attention ;)
As far as question 1 goes it depends on the DAW, some just bundle generic VST's which will work fine if you tell Reason where they are in Preferences, some bundle plug-ins that are tied to the DAW and can only be used in that DAW.

Quetion 2 as far as I can tell Reason 9.5 is VST 2.4 only so unless there's some kind of AU to VST wrapper available then you are out of luck there.

However if you are after a DAW style bundle of Plugins there are some cool options for very little moolah.

E.G. €20 will get you all of these cute lil' babies.

http://www.toneboosters.com/trackessentials/
toneboosters products seems pretty gorgeous. thx again![emoji11]

Inviato dal mio SM-G925F utilizzando Tapatalk
Karim Le Mec : Dj/Producer/Label Owner ( :reason: Vers 11.3  IMac 2016 21")
FOLLOW Karim Le Mec
https://www.youtube.com/user/lemecdj
https://karimlemec.weebly.com/
https://soundcloud.com/karimlemec
https://t.me/reasonstudiosworld

User avatar
-008'
Posts: 334
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 01 May 2017

I tried to test this question myself with FL Studio and the few stock plugs they do allow to run as VST. (They charge for the good ones)

Reason didn't find any of them even though it had found FL itself as a rewire plug.

I'll have to try again and try the pref thing like Ostermilk said. Im going to try again today and re-install my Ableton as well, just to see.
:reason: "Reason is not measured by size or height, but by principle.” -Epictetus

Free Kits and :refill: @ -008' Sounds

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest