DUNE 3.5 Genetics

Discuss VST stuff here!
Popey
Posts: 822
Joined: 04 Jul 2018

Post 16 Nov 2021

Just thought I would mention to any dune 3 owners that version 3.5 dropped recently and if you have not already I suggest trying the new genetics engine. Was testing this yesterday and really impressed with the results it gave me from some of my patches and is a brilliant idea.

Info on 3.5 update is here https://www.synapse-audio.com/news-dune35update.html

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9538
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 16 Nov 2021

Did not tried the update yet. Overlooked the Genetics function - could be interesting...
With the Genetics function, new sounds can be created from 2-3 already existing patches.
In doing so, properties from these patches are randomly thrown together.
Reason12, Win10

Popey
Posts: 822
Joined: 04 Jul 2018

Post 16 Nov 2021

Loque wrote:
16 Nov 2021
Did not tried the update yet. Overlooked the Genetics function - could be interesting...
With the Genetics function, new sounds can be created from 2-3 already existing patches.
In doing so, properties from these patches are randomly thrown together.
I tried it for about an hour yesterday and it gave me mostly very usable results. You can generate a new patch from up to 3 presets and it is great how adding eg. three bass patches means the result is a different bass etc unlike other synths that can generate random patches. Who knows what would happen if you fed it a bass, pad and pluck patch though....something for me to try later

Popey
Posts: 822
Joined: 04 Jul 2018

Post 16 Nov 2021

well a dune bass patch, a pad and a pluck started a genetic family... The first four patches genetically generated are on this soundcloud link and the final 5th preset was born out of the first three patches originally generated. Seem to get some interesting results


User avatar
qn5
Posts: 137
Joined: 29 Nov 2016
Location: NYC

Post 18 Nov 2021

Sadly, this update insta-crashes the entirety of Reason for me the second I try to open it from the rack.
Had to revert to the last version.

Anyone else?
QN5 MUSIC
qn5.com

Popey
Posts: 822
Joined: 04 Jul 2018

Post 19 Nov 2021

qn5 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
Sadly, this update insta-crashes the entirety of Reason for me the second I try to open it from the rack.
Had to revert to the last version.

Anyone else?
That doesn't sound good. Are you on Reason 12 or an earlier version? I tried it in live but can try it in Reason later to see if I have the same issue but I am still on Reason 11.

User avatar
Arrant
Posts: 439
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 19 Nov 2021

Works fine in R11 here. Excellent update.

MattLeschuck
Posts: 91
Joined: 05 Oct 2018

Post 19 Nov 2021

Works fine for me in R12

MattLeschuck
Posts: 91
Joined: 05 Oct 2018

Post 19 Nov 2021

So far the Genetics feature has produced a lot of good patches for me. Mixing up Keys and Pads has yielded really cool results.

User avatar
qn5
Posts: 137
Joined: 29 Nov 2016
Location: NYC

Post 23 Nov 2021

Popey wrote:
19 Nov 2021
qn5 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
Sadly, this update insta-crashes the entirety of Reason for me the second I try to open it from the rack.
Had to revert to the last version.

Anyone else?
That doesn't sound good. Are you on Reason 12 or an earlier version? I tried it in live but can try it in Reason later to see if I have the same issue but I am still on Reason 11.
This happens on both R11 and R12 (last and latest version). I can put an instance of the Dune 3 into the rack. The moment I try to open it to edit or select patches, Reason crashes and vanishes off my screen. Craziness.
QN5 MUSIC
qn5.com

Popey
Posts: 822
Joined: 04 Jul 2018

Post 24 Nov 2021

qn5 wrote:
23 Nov 2021
Popey wrote:
19 Nov 2021


That doesn't sound good. Are you on Reason 12 or an earlier version? I tried it in live but can try it in Reason later to see if I have the same issue but I am still on Reason 11.
This happens on both R11 and R12 (last and latest version). I can put an instance of the Dune 3 into the rack. The moment I try to open it to edit or select patches, Reason crashes and vanishes off my screen. Craziness.
Just tested this in Reason 11 and it worked fine here on Reason 11 build 11.3.9d22. I am windows 10 so not sure what os you use but I would contact rs and synapse.

User avatar
qn5
Posts: 137
Joined: 29 Nov 2016
Location: NYC

Post 25 Nov 2021

Popey wrote:
24 Nov 2021
qn5 wrote:
23 Nov 2021


This happens on both R11 and R12 (last and latest version). I can put an instance of the Dune 3 into the rack. The moment I try to open it to edit or select patches, Reason crashes and vanishes off my screen. Craziness.
Just tested this in Reason 11 and it worked fine here on Reason 11 build 11.3.9d22. I am windows 10 so not sure what os you use but I would contact rs and synapse.
Will do!
QN5 MUSIC
qn5.com

MattLeschuck
Posts: 91
Joined: 05 Oct 2018

Post 26 Nov 2021

Just a heads up, Dune 3 is on sale until the 28th.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9538
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 26 Nov 2021

MattLeschuck wrote:
26 Nov 2021
Just a heads up, Dune 3 is on sale until the 28th.
Its not the best price every, but ok.

A very good synth with excellent sound and great patches.
Reason12, Win10

MattLeschuck
Posts: 91
Joined: 05 Oct 2018

Post 26 Nov 2021

Loque wrote:
26 Nov 2021
MattLeschuck wrote:
26 Nov 2021
Just a heads up, Dune 3 is on sale until the 28th.
Its not the best price every, but ok.

A very good synth with excellent sound and great patches.
I’m not surprised by the small sale considering they just gave it a big update.

Dune for me is well worth the price.

Have you given the Genetics a run through yet?

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9538
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 26 Nov 2021

MattLeschuck wrote:
26 Nov 2021
...
Have you given the Genetics a run through yet?
No, not yet. Hopefully on sunday.
Reason12, Win10

MattLeschuck
Posts: 91
Joined: 05 Oct 2018

Post 26 Nov 2021

Though different in its approach, it reminds me of a simplified version of Lectric Pandas randomizer in Nostromo. It's a really cool addition to Dune. I asked Synapse recently whether this would find its way into Obsession and The Legend and they said there is a good chance it will.

Report back what you think. The new browser is really nice as well.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9538
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 26 Nov 2021

MattLeschuck wrote:
26 Nov 2021
Though different in its approach, it reminds me of a simplified version of Lectric Pandas randomizer in Nostromo. It's a really cool addition to Dune. I asked Synapse recently whether this would find its way into Obsession and The Legend and they said there is a good chance it will.

Report back what you think. The new browser is really nice as well.
Uhhh.that would be great :thumbup:
Reason12, Win10

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest