midi cc07 volume ?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Halfdane
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Apr 2020

Post 18 Sep 2023

Hi,

Most other synths and samplers' master volume defaults to midi cc 07, which fits my M-audio keyboard wonderfully. I do film music, so I really need to record volume while performing the parts.

My Q: it seems impossible to automate this in Reasonstudio and plugin: is there a workaround besides using the mod wheel for this ?

If not: where to go if I want to request this function ?

Sorry for my newbie questions - been with reason since 1.0 but a lot of things have happened since....

robussc
Posts: 340
Joined: 03 May 2022

Post 19 Sep 2023

This somewhat broken article might help?

https://www.reasonstudios.com/blog/tuto ... ol-remote/

And there a good number of hits on Google for Reason RemoteMaps...

Hopefully your M-Audio controller is already supported, or perhaps you can just make a super simple one to map your volume slider to Volume?
Software: Reason 12 + Objekt, Vintage Vault 4, V-Collection 8 + Pigments, Vintage Verb + Supermassive
Hardware: 27" iMac + Portrait monitor, Launchkey 61, Scarlett 18i20, Rokit 6 monitors, AT4040 mic, DT-990 Pro phones

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 11288
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 19 Sep 2023

And also, many newer orchestral libraries (I use Kontakt mostly) use the mod wheel to 'play' dynamics, doing more than just volume rides (which always sounded 'artificial' to my ears). Which instruments/libraries are you mostly using?
Selig Audio, LLC

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: client6, CommonCrawl [Bot] and 8 guests