Reason 12 on a MAC, not....able to access HD anymore

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
KingME
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Aug 2022

Post 20 Sep 2022

So, I was using Catalina with Reason 11, which was fine. I ended up, upgrading the OS to Monterey. Monterey does not work with Reason 11. So long-story-short, I upgraded to Reason 12. Now, Reason can't access my HD anymore (which is where all my song files are), so I can't access any of my work.

I was told after consulting with Glyph (HD manufacturer), Reason, Google, etc. that Reason could possibly see what it happening if I download a "logging version" of Reason so they can log my steps. I am unsure of myself on that one.

Has anyone had this experience? And what did you do?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 323
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 20 Sep 2022

I've not experienced this myself, but it could be related to access settings in System Preferences...
If you go to System Preferences -> Security & Privacy -> Files and Folders, do you see Reason listed?

KingME
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Aug 2022

Post 21 Sep 2022

Yes, it is listed.

Although, there is a "smbd" option that says "Full Disk Access"....that is greyed out as well. I don't know if one has anything to do with the other. I will try to research that.

Thank you for the advice!




Screen Shot 2022-09-21 at 7.08.42 PM.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

KingME
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Aug 2022

Post 21 Sep 2022

Yes, it is listed.

Although, there is a "smbd" option that says "Full Disk Access"....that is greyed out as well. I don't know if one has anything to do with the other. I will try to research that.

Thank you for the advice!

User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 323
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 22 Sep 2022

KingME wrote:
21 Sep 2022
Yes, it is listed.

Although, there is a "smbd" option that says "Full Disk Access"....that is greyed out as well. I don't know if one has anything to do with the other. I will try to research that.

Thank you for the advice!
It's normal to have entries with "Full Disk Access" grayed out, because they're added in a separate list (above Files and Folders in the left sidebar).:
FullDiskAccess.png
Nothing in your screenshots looks misconfigured...
Maybe try running Reason from a fresh user account?
But support should have given you a link to install the logging version of Reason, no? If you run it, it should spit out more details when the error message occurs. This will help them diagnose the problem.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

KingME
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Aug 2022

Post 22 Sep 2022

ok, that's good to know about the Full Access Disk.

Yes, I reached out to them. I downloaded the logging version yesterday and sent them my logs and am awaiting analysis now.

I think I am going to uninstall the program and try to install it again.


I only have one account. Maybe I will create another user account and give it a try,

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Google [Bot] and 2 guests