808 bass/sub bass help.

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
SatURn-Kron0s

21 Jan 2022

Hi guys/gals,

This is my first post here and hopefully I don't ask something that has been asked too many times before.

Anyways, I'm new to Reason, - well not quite NEW since I bought Reason 9 -, and recently upgraded to 12 as I'm trying to get back into making music. DAW's in general are confusing to me since the majority of musical career was spent as a bassist and I never really dove into the DAW side of things. Well, here I am trying to finally tackle this and make music on my own.

Stylistically, I really like Trap/Phonk/Hip-Hop and styles that blend these elements together. Inspiration comes really easily to me in Reason, especially on the synth side of things, so there is no lack of ideas/sounds to pursue.

What I'm struggling with is BASS (odd considering my primary instrument is electric bass); nothing I do seems to get that fat, boomy, rich + saturated sound that I am drawn to on the music I listen to. I've tried following Ryan's/Reason's tutorial on 808 bass construction, but it just sounds weak on my end once it is all said and done.

Where do I start? Am I doing something wrong? I genuinely love Reason and the sounds I can get from it, but I just can't get convincing bass sub-bass/808 bass sounds out of it. In this case, I have to assume responsibility and say "this is not a fault of the DAW but rather the operator."

Any suggestions would be great and appreciated. I'm certainly not looking for a magic bullet, but I'm assuming I'm missing some fundamentals and need to start somewhere.

crimsonwarlock

21 Jan 2022

First question that comes to mind: do you have a speaker system that can actually emit sub-bass frequencies?
-------
Analog tape ⇒ ESQ1 sequencer board ⇒ Atari/Steinberg Pro24 ⇒ Atari/Cubase ⇒ Cakewalk Sonar ⇒ Orion Pro/Platinum ⇒ Reaper ⇒ Reason DAW.

Billy+

21 Jan 2022