I miss the times when Reason started in less than 5secs

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 10067
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 12 Jan 2022

Do you remember the time, when you had an idea and quickly wanted to give it a try in Reason? You clicked the icon and bam, Reason was there.

Now...
* After 20secs i realize that i need to click "Login"...ok, my bad, that i need to click that stuff...isnt it?
* Uhhh...another daily license update. Yea, another 60secs to wait if the connection works...
* Cool, now lets run....nope, there is some crappy VST which needs to be rescanned...another 60secs
* Now, now, i can work...nope...just give it a few secs more until everything is ready

Ok. Clicked the icon, waited for more than 2 minutes, forgot the idea, closed Reason. Thanks. :clap: :thumbup:

I hope this will be better in future ;-)
Reason12, Win10

User avatar
rgdaniel
Posts: 551
Joined: 07 Sep 2017
Location: Canada

Post 12 Jan 2022

Loque wrote:
12 Jan 2022
I hope this will be better in future ;-)
It's good to have hope.

User avatar
pushedbutton
Posts: 1474
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Lancashire, UK

Post 12 Jan 2022

I miss the times when reason responds to a click within 5 seconds.
@pushedbutton on twitter, add me, send me a message, but don't try to sell me stuff cos I'm skint.
Using Reason since version 3 and still never finished a song.

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 10234
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 12 Jan 2022

Yea, 15 seconds wait time is pretty ridiculous! ;)
(I DO agree it's frustrating when licenses need to be updated on startup)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 3859
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 12 Jan 2022

Look on the bright side
IMG_2905.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Auryn
Posts: 834
Joined: 12 Aug 2015
Location: La Mancha

Post 12 Jan 2022

Yeah man I remember actually having to load a protracker/octamed type program on the Amiga back in the day. I'll gladly take a long startup time let me tell you.
(no knock on the Amiga or protracker, shit was amazing back in the day)
~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-~-.-
Quixotic Sound Design: http://www.quixoticsounddesign.com
Europandemonium Refill: https://gumroad.com/l/YxIGB

User avatar
integerpoet
Posts: 543
Joined: 30 Dec 2020
Location: East Bay, California

Post 12 Jan 2022

I don't miss the times when I had to quit Reason.

User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 1918
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: Orange County California

Post 12 Jan 2022

Image
r11s

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 9840
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 12 Jan 2022

Yeah a faster start-up time would be great!

In terms of RE license updates, I have no idea why it is still the way it is...

So I install a RE via Companion...and then when I start Reason...it THEN wants to update the license and it takes several minutes. Why doesn't it update the license along with the install?

And then after all of that, it doesn't actually write the license to my computer. All those new REs that prompted the license update are still not available for offline use. I have to remove the RE license from my computer and reauthorize it using Authorizer (not Companion) in order for it to write the license to my computer 😅 I'm not sure what it is doing when it updates the license for several minutes...


So a few suggestions in terms of RE license updates to help with faster start up time:

1. Update the license along with the RE install. It shouldn't have to be a part of the start up process.

2. If step 1 is missed, then ask the user if they would like to download and update the RE license, but continue with online authorization for the session. Then Reason can update the license in the background and be ready for the next start of the application.

3. Fix the bug that affects RE licenses not being written to the computer via Companion.

User avatar
motuscott
Posts: 3024
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: the New York

Post 12 Jan 2022

rgdaniel wrote:
12 Jan 2022
Loque wrote:
12 Jan 2022
I hope this will be better in future ;-)
It's good to have hope.
Knockout in the first round!
Vlad the Snarecrusher 🧂

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 2278
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: 55°09'24.5"N 37°27'41.4"E

Post 12 Jan 2022

joeyluck wrote:
12 Jan 2022
1. Update the license along with the RE install. It shouldn't have to be a part of the start up process.
I guess that's not possible so far, it has something to do with app protection. Companion is a simple app, a downloader. Reason can't update REs, but can deal with the protection scheme. That's just a speculation though.

User avatar
QVprod
Moderator
Posts: 3259
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 13 Jan 2022

Well... the login screen loads fast :lol:

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 2278
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: 55°09'24.5"N 37°27'41.4"E

Post 13 Jan 2022

QVprod wrote:
13 Jan 2022
Well... the login screen loads fast :lol:
The rest takes 7 seconds for me (an empty project).

Goriila Texas
Posts: 850
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 13 Jan 2022

Yep I just counted 1000-1 1000-2 3,4..7 7 seconds to load for me.


orthodox wrote:
13 Jan 2022
QVprod wrote:
13 Jan 2022
Well... the login screen loads fast :lol:
The rest takes 7 seconds for me (an empty project).

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 2278
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: 55°09'24.5"N 37°27'41.4"E

Post 13 Jan 2022


User avatar
arnigretar
Posts: 280
Joined: 15 May 2020
Location: Iceland

Post 13 Jan 2022

Where is that damn CD?

Image

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 2278
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: 55°09'24.5"N 37°27'41.4"E

Post 13 Jan 2022

arnigretar wrote:
13 Jan 2022
Where is that damn CD?
If you have a torrent client capable of handling magnet links, copy this url:
magnet:?xt=urn:btih:5836aa33fc8522182a4ee1ac64a1353cf7dbe51d&dn=rebirth%5Fiso%5Finstallation.zip&tr=udp%3A%2F%2F81.92.66.4%3A6969%2Fannounce

User avatar
motuscott
Posts: 3024
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: the New York

Post 13 Jan 2022

orthodox wrote:
13 Jan 2022
The rest takes 7 seconds for me (an empty project).
I'll never get those two seconds back.
Vlad the Snarecrusher 🧂

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 8112
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 13 Jan 2022

丰2ॐ

User avatar
plaamook
Posts: 2381
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: Bajo del mar...

Post 13 Jan 2022

Yeah. 7 sec for me too on a 2012 MBP SSD 16Gb RAM so not a crazy set up at all.
What's everyone else running?
Perpetual Reason 12 Beta Tester :reason:

You can check out my music here.
https://m.soundcloud.com/ericholmofficial
Or here.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC73uZZ ... 8jqUubzsQg

User avatar
lowtom
Posts: 191
Joined: 29 Sep 2017

Post 13 Jan 2022

Latest Reason 12: 7 seconds when loading empty project as default, 25 seconds when loading my custom template as default.

In comparison, Maschine, with similar template loads in 5 seconds.

My setup: MacBook Air 2015, macOS 10.14.6, 1,6 GHz Intel Core i5, 8GB RAM.
:reason: :refill: :re:

User avatar
Rising Night Wave
Posts: 818
Joined: 03 Sep 2019
Location: Vransko, Slovenia

Post 13 Jan 2022

Loque wrote:
12 Jan 2022
Do you remember the time, when you had an idea and quickly wanted to give it a try in Reason? You clicked the icon and bam, Reason was there.

Now...
* After 20secs i realize that i need to click "Login"...ok, my bad, that i need to click that stuff...isnt it?
* Uhhh...another daily license update. Yea, another 60secs to wait if the connection works...
* Cool, now lets run....nope, there is some crappy VST which needs to be rescanned...another 60secs
* Now, now, i can work...nope...just give it a few secs more until everything is ready

Ok. Clicked the icon, waited for more than 2 minutes, forgot the idea, closed Reason. Thanks. :clap: :thumbup:

I hope this will be better in future ;-)
haha (sorry Reason Team but this is somehow true).
know that feeling.
LOL
Rising Night Wave & Extus at SoundCloud
HW: Asus ROG Strix G513QM | Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen | M-Audio M3-8 | M-Audio Uber Mic | Shure SRH1840 | Shure SE215 | LG 49UK6400
SW: Windows 11 Pro x64 | Reason 10 | Reason+ | NCH WavePad Masters Edition

User avatar
avasopht
Posts: 3303
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 13 Jan 2022

The login screen appears within the second, and Reason loads in 5 seconds after that.

I've still got the Ignition key (with v10) and I could authorize the machine as well if I wanted to skip that.
---

User avatar
Rising Night Wave
Posts: 818
Joined: 03 Sep 2019
Location: Vransko, Slovenia

Post 13 Jan 2022

avasopht wrote:
13 Jan 2022
The login screen appears within the second, and Reason loads in 5 seconds after that.

I've still got the Ignition key (with v10) and I could authorize the machine as well if I wanted to skip that.
afterall same thing here. maybe 7 secs hehe.
but i had some problems some times and wanted quickly to launch my Reason DAW... and... i forgot the idea.
but if Reason DAW would launch even faster... it would be quite interesting and welcome. as a long term computer user i know about seconds and miliseconds how important is this.
Rising Night Wave & Extus at SoundCloud
HW: Asus ROG Strix G513QM | Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen | M-Audio M3-8 | M-Audio Uber Mic | Shure SRH1840 | Shure SE215 | LG 49UK6400
SW: Windows 11 Pro x64 | Reason 10 | Reason+ | NCH WavePad Masters Edition

User avatar
avasopht
Posts: 3303
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 13 Jan 2022

Funny thing is, this is true of so many applications.

As our computers get faster the applications become more graphically intensive, load more features or plugins, and might carry out computations that would have been unthinkable 5 years ago.

At the same time, I do think software takes a lot of liberties because it can.

Just look at the size of the ROMs for hardware workstations against comparable sound libraries. They're running on a fraction of the sample size.

And then you have a realtime antivirus in the background scanning every file that is opened. It often taxes the CPU and harddrive if you don't disable it from scanning your sound libraries.

And yet, I have one rich application that can open up in a few tenths of a second. It does this by saving an image of the running state so that it never has to load the starting state from scratch.

It's a full fledged development environment that loads faster than most text editors.
---

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], dioxide and 2 guests