How to automate Dr. ,,Run´´

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Mattvank
Posts: 54
Joined: 30 Mar 2017

Post 23 Nov 2021

Hello,

How can i automate the start stop button(Run) for Dr.Rex?

Barriott
Posts: 59
Joined: 19 Feb 2016

Post 23 Nov 2021

Hey. Do you mean in the sequencer?

If so right click on the device and create a track for device. Go to said track. Arm track by clicking on it. At the top of your sequencer, above the tracks are 3 symbols. New note lane, track parameters and create pattern lane. Click on create pattern lane. Then double click in the pattern select lane. You can change the number of pattern to run by clicking in the clip.

That will automate run as well as the specific loops to trigger.

Barriott
Posts: 59
Joined: 19 Feb 2016

Post 23 Nov 2021

Or right click on a number loop. Edit automation. Your pattern selector has appeared

User avatar
pushedbutton
Posts: 1429
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Lancashire, UK

Post 23 Nov 2021

not sure you can directly automate that button to be honest but if you put it in a combi and assign a rotary to pattern select, it defaults values -1 to 7, this gives you a choice of all 8 banks and an off position. you can then record automation with that rotary or if you want to do something with an lfo you can ... well, you've got my answer.
@pushedbutton on twitter, add me, send me a message, but don't try to sell me stuff cos I'm skint.
Using Reason since version 3 and still never finished a song.

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 3165
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 23 Nov 2021

Mattvank wrote:
23 Nov 2021
Hello,

How can i automate the start stop button(Run) for Dr.Rex?
You can't automate the run button,

Just click the copy to track button and delete or mute any midi that you don't want
VST 2.4 MIDI It's definitely on the list of todos
Using Reason since version 1 is R11 going to be my final version :shock:

ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ Time for a good long sleep ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ

Philup
Posts: 84
Joined: 21 Feb 2015

Post 23 Nov 2021


User avatar
huggermugger
Posts: 282
Joined: 16 Jul 2021

Post 24 Nov 2021

Simply automate the Patterns. Whenever there's no pattern in the automation lane, Rex will be silent (although its Run button remains on). Note you can go outside the barlines too for a less "loopy" sound, such as in Pattern 2.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by huggermugger on 24 Nov 2021, edited 1 time in total.

Mattvank
Posts: 54
Joined: 30 Mar 2017

Post 24 Nov 2021

Thanks!

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], rcbuse, Trendiction [Bot], TritoneAddiction and 9 guests