Reason 12.2.2 is out...

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7430
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 18 Nov 2021

deeplink wrote:
18 Nov 2021
Strange, searching in the browser works perfectly for me. No hic cups. Tried searching for both wavs, patches, files that only exist in my favourites, folders etc. It seems to be working better and faster than before
That's why I posted a video (this has been reported to RS along with logs, BTW). My machine doesn't suffer from most of the issues that everyone else has been complaining about, but I'm sure Reason is acting up on their systems as well. :( Great that your system is working fine. :thumbup: :clap:
Win 10 | Abelton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Sumsung 870 QVO 2 TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
Adabler
Posts: 480
Joined: 05 Oct 2017
Location: Oslo

Post 18 Nov 2021

earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
splash screen is still low res on windows system. total amateur hour. Charging for this beta software.
Screenshot 2021-11-18 193052.jpg
Is it?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
:reason: 12, Win10

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7430
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 18 Nov 2021

earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
splash screen is still low res on windows system. total amateur hour.
Not on both of my Windows machines. Looks fine.
Win 10 | Abelton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Sumsung 870 QVO 2 TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

earwig83
Posts: 165
Joined: 21 Mar 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

EnochLight wrote:
18 Nov 2021
earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
splash screen is still low res on windows system. total amateur hour.
Not on both of my Windows machines. Looks fine.
perhaps it is mine. but are you on a 4k screen?

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7430
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 18 Nov 2021

earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
perhaps it is mine. but are you on a 4k screen?
Good point - I'm running twin 1080p on one machine and a single 1080p on the other.
Win 10 | Abelton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Sumsung 870 QVO 2 TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
Adabler
Posts: 480
Joined: 05 Oct 2017
Location: Oslo

Post 18 Nov 2021

EnochLight wrote:
18 Nov 2021
earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
perhaps it is mine. but are you on a 4k screen?
Good point - I'm running twin 1080p on one machine and a single 1080p on the other.
Same here, 1080p.
:reason: 12, Win10

earwig83
Posts: 165
Joined: 21 Mar 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

Adabler wrote:
18 Nov 2021
EnochLight wrote:
18 Nov 2021


Good point - I'm running twin 1080p on one machine and a single 1080p on the other.
Same here, 1080p.
yeah i'm on a 43" 4k monitor so it is super apparent. One thing to note, is the about reason one looks fine, only the splash is messed up on my 4k and yes looks fine on other 1080p monitors.

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 9302
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
EnochLight wrote:
18 Nov 2021


Not on both of my Windows machines. Looks fine.
perhaps it is mine. but are you on a 4k screen?
Also how large is your 4k monitor and if you are running on a 4k monitor, are you also running at 4k resolution?

[EDIT] Nevermind, just saw your last post

earwig83
Posts: 165
Joined: 21 Mar 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

joeyluck wrote:
18 Nov 2021
earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021


perhaps it is mine. but are you on a 4k screen?
Also how large is your 4k monitor and if you are running on a 4k monitor, are you also running at 4k resolution?
43 inch and running at full 4k. but to add, it looks bad on normal screens when i screen shot it. so it isn't the monitor. it's the graphic.

User avatar
Adabler
Posts: 480
Joined: 05 Oct 2017
Location: Oslo

Post 18 Nov 2021

earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
yeah i'm on a 43" 4k monitor so it is super apparent. One thing to note, is the about reason one looks fine, only the splash is messed up on my 4k and yes looks fine on other 1080p monitors.
That's unfortunate. Maybe think of it as a cool bit crush effect? :-)
:reason: 12, Win10

earwig83
Posts: 165
Joined: 21 Mar 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

Adabler wrote:
18 Nov 2021
earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
yeah i'm on a 43" 4k monitor so it is super apparent. One thing to note, is the about reason one looks fine, only the splash is messed up on my 4k and yes looks fine on other 1080p monitors.
That's unfortunate. Maybe think of it as a cool bit crush effect? :-)
heh i do like my crispy distortion. just not on visuals :)

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 9302
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

Adabler wrote:
18 Nov 2021
earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
yeah i'm on a 43" 4k monitor so it is super apparent. One thing to note, is the about reason one looks fine, only the splash is messed up on my 4k and yes looks fine on other 1080p monitors.
That's unfortunate. Maybe think of it as a cool bit crush effect? :-)
Yeah you could still report it, but at least it's just the splash screen for you.

earwig83
Posts: 165
Joined: 21 Mar 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

joeyluck wrote:
18 Nov 2021
Adabler wrote:
18 Nov 2021


That's unfortunate. Maybe think of it as a cool bit crush effect? :-)
Yeah you could still report it, but at least it's just the splash screen for you.
yeah i might, but really, i don't know how these things slip through. I applied to beta test, they should have given it to me, I am relentlessly good at hunting down issues. :)

Are they not looking at it on a 4k monitor? Also makes me wonder about all the comments "mine is fine" for several other things. Sounds like many are still running on low res screens when the hi res is targeted to people like me, no?

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 9302
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
joeyluck wrote:
18 Nov 2021


Yeah you could still report it, but at least it's just the splash screen for you.
yeah i might, but really, i don't know how these things slip through. I applied to beta test, they should have given it to me, I am relentlessly good at hunting down issues. :)

Are they not looking at it on a 4k monitor? Also makes me wonder about all the comments "mine is fine" for several other things. Sounds like many are still running on low res screens when the hi res is targeted to people like me, no?
Many people are running on 4k and HiDPI displays, but I don't think many users are using 43" displays either...

I reported aliasing on the splash screen early on and it was fixed (at least on my end).

It's not the most pleasant looking splash screen in any case...black on dark orange.

earwig83
Posts: 165
Joined: 21 Mar 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

joeyluck wrote:
18 Nov 2021
earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021


yeah i might, but really, i don't know how these things slip through. I applied to beta test, they should have given it to me, I am relentlessly good at hunting down issues. :)

Are they not looking at it on a 4k monitor? Also makes me wonder about all the comments "mine is fine" for several other things. Sounds like many are still running on low res screens when the hi res is targeted to people like me, no?
Many people are running on 4k and HiDPI displays, but I don't think many users are using 43" displays either...

I reported aliasing on the splash screen early on and it was fixed (at least on my end).

It's not the most pleasant looking splash screen in any case...black on dark orange.
the aliasing is apparent even after screen shoting and viewing on regular monitors. the effect is not from the monitor, it is the graphic. Perhaps has something to do with installing over R11?

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 4479
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 18 Nov 2021

FatJ wrote:
18 Nov 2021
Is anyone else having problems updating? Mine downloads it, offers to install it from within Reason but then just exits to desktop when I try. I start it again and it says there is an update, downloads another 1.5 Gig and fails to install it. I'll try again later in case it is the server being overloaded or something.
I'm not on 12 anymore but when I was, I had a right mission installing 12.2. I was told by someone to try the download link on their site instead of their in daw download.
:reason:

Reason Studio's 11.3 / Cockos Reaper 6.42 / Cakewalk By Bandlab / Orion 8.6
http://soundcloud.com/creativemind75/iv ... soul-mix-3

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7430
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 18 Nov 2021

earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
the aliasing is apparent even after screen shoting and viewing on regular monitors. the effect is not from the monitor, it is the graphic. Perhaps has something to do with installing over R11?
Can you take a photo using your smartphone, and post it here? I'm curious to see what it looks like.
Win 10 | Abelton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Sumsung 870 QVO 2 TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
Exowildebeest
Posts: 1539
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

EnochLight wrote:
18 Nov 2021
earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
the aliasing is apparent even after screen shoting and viewing on regular monitors. the effect is not from the monitor, it is the graphic. Perhaps has something to do with installing over R11?
Can you take a photo using your smartphone, and post it here? I'm curious to see what it looks like.
The moiré effect is gonna give him a heart attack :lol:

Edit: looks like he survived :cool:
Last edited by Exowildebeest on 18 Nov 2021, edited 1 time in total.

earwig83
Posts: 165
Joined: 21 Mar 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

EnochLight wrote:
18 Nov 2021
earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
the aliasing is apparent even after screen shoting and viewing on regular monitors. the effect is not from the monitor, it is the graphic. Perhaps has something to do with installing over R11?
Can you take a photo using your smartphone, and post it here? I'm curious to see what it looks like.
Sure I attached both the windows screenshot to show that it is baked into the actual image and the phone photo of the screen. A bit of a moiré effect however because of the monitor pixels.

Just realized: The culprit is that my windows DPI is set to 125% since it seems to show fine when i switch it back to 100% globally. Still means the way Reason implemented splash screen is not done right but windows DPI scaling is known to be dumb.

Also looks like they still haven't addressed the fact that while REs look great now, all VSTs look like tiny crap again. Especially if they don't have built in scaling. But they used to look useable in R11. Means using maschine plugged into reason is still a pain now. Mattias did mention this was being looked at/into.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by earwig83 on 18 Nov 2021, edited 1 time in total.

DNGmaestro
Posts: 76
Joined: 20 Jan 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

Arrant wrote:
18 Nov 2021
It's unbelievable how Reason 12 has been out for almost three months and still the browser is utterly unusable.
Updated, tested for 30 seconds, back to R11.

Losing patience over here. I paid for R12, it's time to give me the actual product now.
Exactly.

I bought it day one and still haven't used it. It's still unusable for me.
Overload of bugs, some synths crash it, super slow loadings with the browser.

earwig83
Posts: 165
Joined: 21 Mar 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

DNGmaestro wrote:
18 Nov 2021
Arrant wrote:
18 Nov 2021
It's unbelievable how Reason 12 has been out for almost three months and still the browser is utterly unusable.
Updated, tested for 30 seconds, back to R11.

Losing patience over here. I paid for R12, it's time to give me the actual product now.
Exactly.

I bought it day one and still haven't used it. It's still unusable for me.
almost all companies have turned into this kind of sludgy process of treating us all like beta testers who pay money to be so. It's leading me to wanting to exit tech hobbies altogether. sadly.

User avatar
cocoazenith
Posts: 91
Joined: 31 May 2015

Post 18 Nov 2021

Both in Reason 10 and Reason 11 the browser sidebar had HD icons. Also dragging a custom
designed MacOS folder to it did not change the image quality.

Well, Since Reason 12 they have been demoted to low-res. And I evidently thought that such
a small hiccup will surely be addressed with the november update.

I guess I was wrong. I cannot believe that this was not solved with this Reason 12.2.2 update !!!
WTF Reason Studios???
Screenshot 2021-11-18 at 21.55.23.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by cocoazenith on 18 Nov 2021, edited 2 times in total.

KGB
Posts: 70
Joined: 22 Nov 2016

Post 18 Nov 2021

Some fun news..the transport bar bug prior to this update made me switch to the light default skin which I haven't used in years. It's kinda enjoyable. Its always good to switch things up a little from time to time.

Now I don't even want to go to the dark skin..maybe I will in a few years ;)

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7430
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 18 Nov 2021

earwig83 wrote:
18 Nov 2021
EnochLight wrote:
18 Nov 2021


Can you take a photo using your smartphone, and post it here? I'm curious to see what it looks like.
Sure I attached both the windows screenshot to show that it is baked into the actual image and the phone photo of the screen. A bit of a moiré effect however because of the monitor pixels.

Just realized: The culprit is that my windows DPI is set to 125% since it seems to show fine when i switch it back to 100% globally. Still means the way Reason implemented splash screen is not done right but windows DPI scaling is known to be dumb.

Also looks like they still haven't addressed the fact that while REs look great now, all VSTs look like tiny crap again. Especially if they don't have built in scaling. But they used to look useable in R11. Means using maschine plugged into reason is still a pain now. Mattias did mention this was being looked at/into.
Cool - thanks for posting those! Yeah, my first question was going to be whether you had Windows scaling turned on - that's known to make things look pretty horrible.
Win 10 | Abelton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Sumsung 870 QVO 2 TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

Liimusic
Posts: 11
Joined: 30 Dec 2019

Post 18 Nov 2021

Hi,

Im getting massive Dropout when im using Mimic on Advanced Stretch Mode.
OS X Big Sur 10.6

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Trendiction [Bot] and 7 guests