Reason Studios shares their roadmap (September 7, 2021)

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 1845
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 10 Nov 2021

Ottostrom wrote:
10 Nov 2021
Threpus wrote:
10 Nov 2021
I just want a stable copy of Reason. I asked support if I (being an owner of 12) could have access to the last version of 11 until they get this sorted out. I was told that they "no longer support" 11- which is a circular argument: they're saying they don't deal with 11 because they don't deal with 11.

I went more than 3 years without a single crash- and I use Reason for hours a day- to experiencing regular crashes with 12. I found the installer for 10 on a backup drive (which is what I was running prior to my "upgrade" to 12) and have been using that for a couple of days now- and I've got that snappy, stable experience again.

What justification can there be for denying people a stable copy? Shouldn't the customers get to decide whether or not to forgo new features if it suits their needs? If it means that projects from later versions won't open, or that you can't use these silly sound packs, or whatever else, fine- just make it known and give people a choice. We are owed that much.
I don't know how you worded your request to support and I don't know how this is a reoccurring problem but here are the download links to all versions which you can use if you own R12:
https://www.reasonstudios.com/en/reason/updates
Unless they have changed it recently you are only licenced to use the versions you bought. So if you upgraded from R10 to R12 you cannot authorise R11 but you can run it in demo mode.

rootwheel
Posts: 290
Joined: 21 Aug 2021

Post 10 Nov 2021

DaveyG wrote:
10 Nov 2021
Ottostrom wrote:
10 Nov 2021

I don't know how you worded your request to support and I don't know how this is a reoccurring problem but here are the download links to all versions which you can use if you own R12:
https://www.reasonstudios.com/en/reason/updates
Unless they have changed it recently you are only licenced to use the versions you bought. So if you upgraded from R10 to R12 you cannot authorise R11 but you can run it in demo mode.
There has always been a workaround for this whereby if you use the CodeMeter Offline Computer Authorisation, a newer Reason license will still allow an older Reason.app/Reason.exe to load in an authorised state.

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7976
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Imladris

Post 10 Nov 2021

Threpus wrote:
10 Nov 2021
I just want a stable copy of Reason. I asked support if I (being an owner of 12) could have access to the last version of 11 until they get this sorted out.
Just curious - did you buy a copy of 11 in the past? Or do you just buy a license for (or sub to) 12?
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

Threpus
Posts: 42
Joined: 24 Dec 2018

Post 10 Nov 2021

The answer I received from support says, in part, "Unfortunately, since its discontinued, we no longer distribute licenses for Reason 11 directly anymore" and never provided the links that Ottostrom did- thanks for that, btw.

I think they misunderstood what I was going for, and I inferred that not having a license for 11 meant I couldn't use it.

Threpus
Posts: 42
Joined: 24 Dec 2018

Post 10 Nov 2021

EnochLight wrote:
10 Nov 2021
Threpus wrote:
10 Nov 2021
I just want a stable copy of Reason. I asked support if I (being an owner of 12) could have access to the last version of 11 until they get this sorted out.
Just curious - did you buy a copy of 11 in the past? Or do you just buy a license for (or sub to) 12?
I upgraded from 10 to 12- I never owned 11.

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7976
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Imladris

Post 10 Nov 2021

Threpus wrote:
10 Nov 2021
EnochLight wrote:
10 Nov 2021


Just curious - did you buy a copy of 11 in the past? Or do you just buy a license for (or sub to) 12?
I upgraded from 10 to 12- I never owned 11.
Gotcha, thanks. Yeah so, you should still have unrestricted access to version 10 available in your account. Since you never bought 11, I shouldn't think you'd have access regardless of what is going on with 12 right now. Maybe use version 10 until the issues with 12 get sorted out?
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

Threpus
Posts: 42
Joined: 24 Dec 2018

Post 10 Nov 2021

I would prefer to use the latest stable release- which is 11- and I believe I should be allowed to... but, at a minimum, they should have provided the links that Ottostrom did and explained why I couldn't use 11... I never asked them for a license- just temporary use while they fix the problems with 12 that they are responsible for... Or, in other words, while I am unable to use what I have paid for, to use 11 while I wait...

Either way, most of my irritation stemmed from the fact that I thought customers weren't given access to previous versions. I was wrong about that. I can and will use 10. I won't nit-pick. I'm just back to hoping 12 is usable soon.

User avatar
Ottostrom
Posts: 773
Joined: 13 May 2016

Post 10 Nov 2021

Threpus wrote:
10 Nov 2021
I would prefer to use the latest stable release- which is 11- and I believe I should be allowed to... but, at a minimum, they should have provided the links that Ottostrom did and explained why I couldn't use 11... I never asked them for a license- just temporary use while they fix the problems with 12 that they are responsible for... Or, in other words, while I am unable to use what I have paid for, to use 11 while I wait...

Either way, most of my irritation stemmed from the fact that I thought customers weren't given access to previous versions. I was wrong about that. I can and will use 10. I won't nit-pick. I'm just back to hoping 12 is usable soon.
I totally agree with you and even if R12 was working perfectly I think you should have free access to any previous version of Reason. It's not like they remove features with the new upgrades, so having paid for R12 should mean that you've paid for all the features currently available (including those in R11 that wasn't in R10). I also think it is strange that they didn't give you the download links but having dealt with support recently as well I got the feeling that they were maybe less thorough than usual which might well be caused by an increase in support tickets being submitted right now.

rootwheel
Posts: 290
Joined: 21 Aug 2021

Post 10 Nov 2021

Threpus wrote:
10 Nov 2021
I would prefer to use the latest stable release- which is 11- and I believe I should be allowed to... but, at a minimum, they should have provided the links that Ottostrom did and explained why I couldn't use 11... I never asked them for a license- just temporary use while they fix the problems with 12 that they are responsible for... Or, in other words, while I am unable to use what I have paid for, to use 11 while I wait...

Either way, most of my irritation stemmed from the fact that I thought customers weren't given access to previous versions. I was wrong about that. I can and will use 10. I won't nit-pick. I'm just back to hoping 12 is usable soon.
You should be able to download and install Reason 11.3.9 from the links provided.

You also will need to install CodeMeter if you haven't got it already on your machine. Once you've installed CodeMeter you need to go to your Reason Studios account in your web browser and choose to Authorise your Computer for your R12 license. After doing all this you should find that when you open the Reason 11 application on your computer it will show as fully registered (i.e. not in Demo mode). If you click About Reason it will show your Reason 12 serial in the About window for the Reason 11 app.

Let us know how you get on.

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7976
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Imladris

Post 10 Nov 2021

rootwheel wrote:
10 Nov 2021
You should be able to download and install Reason 11.3.9 from the links provided.

You also will need to install CodeMeter if you haven't got it already on your machine. Once you've installed CodeMeter you need to go to your Reason Studios account in your web browser and choose to Authorise your Computer for your R12 license. After doing all this you should find that when you open the Reason 11 application on your computer it will show as fully registered (i.e. not in Demo mode). If you click About Reason it will show your Reason 12 serial in the About window for the Reason 11 app.

Let us know how you get on.
This is news to me. So if you buy Reason 12, you get a free license to use Reason 11 as well??!!!! :o
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 2371
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 10 Nov 2021

EnochLight wrote:
10 Nov 2021
This is news to me. So if you buy Reason 12, you get a free license to use Reason 11 as well??!!!! :o
No you don't, but it still seems to work. Legally speaking you'd likely be in breach of the EULA, but I suppose the risk of getting called out on this is negligible.

User avatar
avasopht
Posts: 3451
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 10 Nov 2021

Well, ... guess they know about it now eh!
---

User avatar
Carly(Poohbear)
Posts: 2812
Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 11 Nov 2021

......................

User avatar
Eprom
Posts: 116
Joined: 24 Sep 2017

Post 11 Nov 2021

People asked for a meme... :twisted:
reason-meme.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
:reason: Reason user since Ver. 1.01(2001) :reason:
- I read everything, but rarely post on forums -

[Mac Mini M1/Macbook Pro M1/MacOS 12.4 - Reason 12]

User avatar
Arrant
Posts: 505
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 11 Nov 2021

meme.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7976
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Imladris

Post 11 Nov 2021

Eprom wrote:
11 Nov 2021
People asked for a meme... :twisted:
reason-meme-fixed.jpg
Fixed that for ya... :lol:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 4255
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 11 Nov 2021

I dunno, “off course” seems kinda on point too. 😂
I write good music for good people

https://slow-robot.com/
https://slowrobot.bandcamp.com/

User avatar
Eprom
Posts: 116
Joined: 24 Sep 2017

Post 11 Nov 2021

EnochLight wrote:
11 Nov 2021
Eprom wrote:
11 Nov 2021
People asked for a meme... :twisted:

reason-meme-fixed.jpg
Fixed that for ya... :lol:
Thanks :D
:reason: Reason user since Ver. 1.01(2001) :reason:
- I read everything, but rarely post on forums -

[Mac Mini M1/Macbook Pro M1/MacOS 12.4 - Reason 12]

User avatar
Eprom
Posts: 116
Joined: 24 Sep 2017

Post 11 Nov 2021

Live view of Reason Studio's de-bug department.
:reason: Reason user since Ver. 1.01(2001) :reason:
- I read everything, but rarely post on forums -

[Mac Mini M1/Macbook Pro M1/MacOS 12.4 - Reason 12]

User avatar
mimidancer
Posts: 269
Joined: 30 Sep 2021

Post 11 Nov 2021

Did I miss an October patch?

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 3997
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 11 Nov 2021

mimidancer wrote:
11 Nov 2021
Did I miss an October patch?
October is 11 months away ;)
Remember this - freedom of expression does not exist in this dojo.

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 4789
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 11 Nov 2021

Eprom wrote:
11 Nov 2021
People asked for a meme... :twisted:

reason-meme.jpg
"of" course.

I see people have already pointed that out.

Reason back to really dragging their feet again it seems. End of October, it's almost mid November. When 2 guys code Reaper and have an update out every 20-30 days, I wonder what takes Reason Studio's so long?
:reason:

Reason Studio's 11.3 / Cockos Reaper 6.69 / Cakewalk By Bandlab / Orion 8.6
http://soundcloud.com/creativemind75/iv ... soul-mix-3

User avatar
Faastwalker
Posts: 2153
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 13 Nov 2021

Billy+ wrote:
11 Nov 2021
mimidancer wrote:
11 Nov 2021
Did I miss an October patch?
October is 11 months away ;)
Lol. True that. I just double checked - they didn’t specify a year on the roadmap graphic. It only shows months :clap:

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 3997
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 13 Nov 2021

Yeah I did a few updates to the roadmap myself just to lend a hand

This was my first update
IMG_2870.PNG
This one was a bit more harsh
IMG_2873.PNG
But it's all in good fun

Besides I jumped ship after a couple of weeks with plus and after the roadmap was released and seeing that nothing was being added that I was remotely interested in
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Remember this - freedom of expression does not exist in this dojo.

jaeproduced
Posts: 175
Joined: 29 Apr 2020

Post 13 Nov 2021

Billy+ wrote:
13 Nov 2021
Yeah I did a few updates to the roadmap myself just to lend a hand

This was my first update
IMG_2870.PNG

This one was a bit more harsh
IMG_2873.PNG

But it's all in good fun

Besides I jumped ship after a couple of weeks with plus and after the roadmap was released and seeing that nothing was being added that I was remotely interested in
Jumped ship to what DAW I may ask?

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 4 guests