Custom Remote Code for an Akai Fire

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Trebot

30 Jul 2021

I'm creating a custom map for my Akai Fire. I have no experience writing in Lua but I have been able to read up on the internet and have a pretty good start. I've made multiple groups for shift keys and such. I can pretty much completely control the SSL mixer. The issue I have run across is RGB lighting of pads. The Akai Fire pads can be lit up in multiple colors and brightness levels via a sysex. I am using local output to trigger a system exclusive message with variables. 4 bytes in the sysex are for controlling color: 1 for pad number and 1 each for red, green, and blue. It works partially.

I can get the lua codec to light up a pad in the color I want and in varying brightness levels, but I'm stuck with that 1 color. I want to be able to switch from red to green, not just varying levels of red. An example would be the differing colors of the accent on a pad on ReDrum. From reading a couple of threads on this forum I believe I need to use the mode function in the remote map. I've read it is used to call back to the codec to set RGB but nothing I've read says how, not even the docs in the SDK. I also can't find an example of it in the existing maps.

Any help is appreciated.

rmtcvolte

31 Jul 2021

What you can do with modes is set up some static behavior for an item in the remotemap. (e.g. colors for different buttons: first button=green, second button=red)

Modes are set up in
function remote_init()
local items={{name="Button 1", input="button", modes={"white","green","orange","red"}}}
You can then recal the mode with: g_color=remote.get_item_mode(index of Button 1), this will give back a number of the choosen mode. e.g. g_color=1 (for white).

In case of ReDrums accent button the color changes are value dependend (e.g. 0=white, 1=green, 2=orange, 3=red). Modes will not help you here IMO.

Trebot

31 Jul 2021