Scales and Chords plays wrong notes?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Sk5

08 Jul 2021

To start off, I know very little about Reason and computer music in general. I'm an electric bassist trying to run my Hammond XPK 200gl bass pedals through my Korg Minilogue XD to be able to play chords with my feet while playing bass. The built-in chord feature on the Korg is extremely limited, only allowing one single type of chord to be selected at a time.

I'm trying to use the built-in device Scales and Chords on Reason, but its not making much sense to me. In C major, for example, when I play a B note the resulting chord is Bm#5, the program playing the notes B D G (though the G is technically an Fx here, which does not belong to the key). In the key of C, this should be B diminished, notes B D F. The only way around this that I found was to remove the G note from the scale, but obviously removing the 5 from the major scale is not an option. Why would this program go out of its way to avoid playing the correct vii diminished and instead add a note that is not in the key to play a misspelled first inversion of V? I've had this same problem in other keys and scales, where the program for some reason plays chords that do not belong to the key.

I tried downloading a different VST, CodeFN42's Chordz, but I couldn't figure out how to get it working in Reason. From what I've read online that might not be possible. Is there any way to get Reason's Scales and Chords to be useful live, or are there any other programs I could use to achieve this?

deeplink
Competition Winner

09 Jul 2021

Quite honestly, I don't have an explanation - perhaps there is a reason for this? I have very limited knowledge in music theory, but still I can't believe that I didn't pick up on this before.
From what I see on the internet the 7th chord should be B-D-F - instead Scales and Chords plays B-D-G.

I hope someone can explain this.