Are Sound Packs Royalty Free?

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Billy+

08 Jul 2021

So when you buy patches/presets for vst's or samples etc the packs explicitly state the included content is royalty free for the samples and the patches but I can't find any such declaration for sound packs or the included content (patches samples demos)

does anyone know what the status is as well as the declaration?

mcatalao
Competition Winner

08 Jul 2021

They are royalty free in the context of creating music and songs and derivative work. However you can't use them in the context of sample products and patches for other purposes. And even that is a grey area because there was this boast of the possibility of customizing the Patches. I'd check the Reason+ contract/EULA fineprints...

mcatalao
Competition Winner

08 Jul 2021

Here:

https://www.reasonstudios.com/agreements#terms-of-use

I'm not a lawyer but from what i can understand the parts that talk about content apply despite you have a subscription or if you own a reason license. From a quick read, you can use the contents linked to the software for music production royalty free (even commercial music), but you can't use them to create other products or services.

Billy+

08 Jul 2021

So selling splits of drums or non layered instruments isn't acceptable for sound packs?

Is that the same for FSB derivative audio as well?

gbuck

08 Jul 2021

On a different note I guess the sound packs are free for R+ subscribers, but can RS11 owners buy the sound packs? And if not, why? There are a few I would purchase if not too pricey.

challism

08 Jul 2021

gbuck wrote:
08 Jul 2021
On a different note I guess the sound packs are free for R+ subscribers, but can RS11 owners buy the sound packs? And if not, why? There are a few I would purchase if not too pricey.